HAVE YOU SEEN THIS FLICK? - #2

in #movies6 years ago

Repo Man - 1984

tumblr_oykarz1GcM1v4a8wfo1_1280.png

"You ever feel as if your mind had started to erode?"

EMWALKER
RATING
7/10

The above quote perfectly describes how you'll be feeling during / after watching this movie. This is an odd one. I caught it on television sometime in the early 2000's..... I couldn't have been older than 14. I was stoned and just took the film at face value. A trip. Made just to be different. Fast forward a decade and I saw a criterion collection issue of the film on amazon.

I remembered watching it - But other than the general surface level plot stuff I couldn't tell you anything about the film. I added it to my cart and forgot about it until it arrived. Let me say - I own quite a few criterion editions and this is by far one of my favorites - the supplementary material is pretty good.

Emilio Estevez plays a punk named Otto who gets in with a group or Repo Men and falls down rabbit hole of Oz like proportions. Steeped with symbolism, Occult references, Dianetics (scientology) - This is the type of film that needs to be experienced more than once. Watch it drunk. Watch it sober. Smoke a joint - Hell drop some acid..... Wait that's probably not the best idea - The film will do a good enough job of making you feel like you did.

There's a scene with Otto and Miller - They are standing under a bridge burning shit in a steel drum. It's part of the trailer. When ever I think of the film this is the first thing that comes to mind. I will say - Having an understand of the basic principles of scientology / the religion's impact on the world will give you a better foundation for understanding the film and the ideas within it.

That's all I'm going to say about it for now.
If you've seen it let me know what you think in the comments.
Be excellent to each other
E.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Yet to see it but this is the second movie from the 80s recommended in the hour. I think I need to create time to do so

Cant remember much about it, saw it years ago, can't remember too much

Its a great oddball movie I've watched many times!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61015.50
ETH 2395.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64