I Love You - Short Film

in #movies6 years ago (edited)

I Love You Thumb.jpg

Happy Monday, Steem!

After much love and labor, I bring you my new short film, I Love You!

You've seen a lot of screenshots and a lot of talk from me, but at last, I have finished the piece.

What it's about: A girlfriend tries to get her boyfriend to say I love you first, but dropping little hints isn't quite cutting it.

My Patrons on Patreon get my films first, but the Steem community is next in line before I make the YouTube video public to spread it far and wide.

I would love to upload this film to the @dtube platform, unfortunately the music licensing agreements I have with Epidemic Sound disallows that... for now.

If you enjoy I Love You, please like and share it with other Steem users. I still believe that Steem has a future as a film distribution medium for independent creators like myself.

Phil


Big thanks to these accounts who've supported my channel here on the Steem platforms the most.

Check'em out! @ashtv @vincentnijman @namiks @curie @c-squared @roelandp @brian-rhodes


WHO DIS IS

If you want to know who I am and what Distant Signal is, check this out. It's sort of a manifesto. The TL;DR is that I've won an award for producing, make a lot of reality TV, live in LA and think that artist and media incentives are misaligned and serve large corporations and not independent artists.

SUPPORT ME ON PATREON:

https://www.patreon.com/adistantsignal

I’M PART OF STEEMFILM COMMUNITY

SteemLens.png

CHANGELINGS


The fist horror / thriller film made on and with the Steem blockchain. Use this hashtag to find out all about it!

I LOVE CRYPTO!

Monero - 48NMrZPCKUm4J66b1vcZ2q9izF4yoSFJ6KvfFtBC3ZjMMv4FCky9LRm445TKvts5pw9Lo2rVx85KRXH9Nc2JKpkH14EXP5U
Litecoin -LR7WauUkXse8fdNwaYhdaua3ziXseFmUPo
Ethereum - 0xD167b23385B3fFca651ACC2948BCC14e554d22B3
Dogecoin – DGqwbUQvm273E9pTxgKhyb7PjJQEPW5F51

PHIL ABATECOLA:

INSTAGRAM: https://instagram.com/abatecolasan/
WEBSITE: http://www.philabatecola.com

MISSION

To create narratives, comedies and documentaries that are short, fun, interesting and cinematic.

Sort:  

I love it! He is exactly like my husband! Well, he would be too lazy to run away like him but he would made a joke out of me in a different way :) The editing work that you've done is amazing!

Thank you for sharing and congratulations on the curie vote! You absolutely deserve it!

Ha! Well you have your work cut out for you then. ;) I appreciate your support and glad you enjoyed the piece!

Hi @distantsignal, thank you for sharing your short movie for a wide auditorium. It is always good to know what people think. In my opinion there are few very positive things: the quality of the movie is really great, it is no difference from those what we usually see on Television. I love the actors, especially the female, she has great mimic, everything she feels and want to say she transmits with her whole appearance and that is really great. The male character I found less expressive and a little bit boring. The whole film I like till the moment when the female first said "i love you" and of course then repeatedly the same sentence, it completely destroyed the whole film. I would prefer either no words and just expressions with mimic body language or a little bit more, because such moments when one opens his heart to another contains much more vocabulary. That is my opinion, I hope you are not so angry with it :)

Thanks for your feedback. Whether we like it or not, saying those three words is almost as important as our actions, which is why I needed her to eventually say it. She realizes that she isn't going to get anywhere by being passive aggressive. The film definitely changes tone when she does say it, but it's a turn I enjoy. I'm glad you thought it looked as good as anything on TV. That is a high compliment. Thank you for taking the time to watch the film and comment thoughtfully. I appreciate it.

Hi @distantsignal,

Great to finally see the completed film. Excellent work!

This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase that will be posted in about 12 hours on the @curie blog.

NOTE: If you would like us to NOT feature your post in the Author Showcase please reply, email, or DM me on Discord as soon as possible. Any photos or quoted text from your post that we feature will be properly attributed to you as the author.

  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@randomwanderings#9929 ) or even through email to randomwanderingsgene at gmail .com . This personal addition to my article is always one of my favorite parts.

You can check out our previous Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Thanks for your time and for creating great content.
Gene (@curie curator)

I love IT!

Fantastic work my friend, very stylish when needed and there's some super individual moments in there too.
The performances are wonderful, great direction.
From the BTS videos I wondered how the meal scene with the giant 'love' might pan out, but it's better than I could've imagined.
The editing and pace of the flash/buzz is a stroke of brilliance.

Makes me want to go out there and make a proper short of my own! Well done @distantsignal

Thanks, Ash! I'm glad you enjoyed it. The flashing was probably the hardest part to edit. That thing was being manually turned on and off and so the timing was always different. I had to force it into a rhythm! I'm so happy it works for you. If you do make a short, lemme know!

@distantsignal loved this! I'm newer on the platform and am also planning to use Steem as a place to share film! I agree with you said about using the platform as a way to support being an independent artist- Subsidizing income and funding projects is a multi layered thing! So glad I found your page, looking forward to seeing more. And if there's any way I can become more involved in the Steem Film community let me know!!

Thanks @lifesacircus! I'll definitely be posting more video content and films as time goes by. As for #steemfilm, just use the hashtag when posting about your own filmmaking work.

I just made a post kicking off sharing my process of making my first short film so I will definitely use that! Thanks xo

Hey, @distantsignal.

Really enjoyed this. Surreal, yet familiar. There's a definite need for her to get "I love you" out of him, while he plays oblivious to it. It appears that all along she was trying to get him to say it, he was trying to get her to say it first. And when he does finally say it, she's not all that happy about being first. Typical, in my experience. :)

Great acting, very expressive both with lines and without, great production quality, story was well told. Very much deserving of the curie. Well done!

Thanks @glenalbrethsen! I'm glad you enjoyed the short and thanks for taking the time to watch.

Oh and thanks for the 'thanks' mention too, you're welcome 👍🏻

Oh yeah!
I love you is priceless I guess?
Any items on Amazon called 'i love you'? I'll buy them all!

I'm sure its free!
So, all I wanna say is:

I love you all!

Hi distantsignal,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thanks, Curie! Glad you thought it was worthy of your support!

Great short... i really enjoyed the suspense in the process... you wanted him to say it! But, will he is the question? Great effects as well while they are running. Nice audio, clean footage! Woo hoo overall great job! Would you like to be a guest on my show?

Thanks, Paul! I'm glad you enjoyed the short. What is this show you speak of?

This was last weeks show...

It is about the entertainment industry! Different guest each week!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59207.83
ETH 2464.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43