You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Blade Runner: Black Out 2022, 2036: Nexus Dawn, 2048: Nowhere to Run

in #movies7 years ago (edited)

I think you just figured out what movie my wife and I are going to watch this evening. I've never seen the original...and no I don't live under a rock (now), I just did for a long period of time In my twenties.

Upvote for you! Thanks for the idea.

EDIT: I never answered your original question posed in your post...yes we'll probably be going to see the new one when it comes out! Gotta watch the original first though.

Sort:  

Ah, very cool! It's somewhat dark and edgy. It influenced cinema in some interesting ways. Let me know what you think of it. :)

Yes you're right it was pretty dark! It was interesting to see the ways that the movie portrayed how Los Angeles and humanity evolved by 2019.

  • They nailed it as far as huge mega corporations creating technological advances that endanger the public's well-being
  • Bio-engineering capability had obviously exceeded what we have today and what we'll see in the next couple of years but there's still some scary stuff going on in right now, a lot of which the public is not really aware.
  • The propaganda-like advertising barrage shown in the movie was pretty accurate in comparison to what we're exposed to every day
  • It was kind of funny to see the heavy Chinese influence on the west coast in the movie as there's been much more of a huge influx of Hispanic culture in that area as opposed to Chinese.
  • The acid rain...I'm glad we haven't destroyed the planet as badly as is shown in the movie. Yet.

The movie did pose a lot of good ethical questions as far as bio engineering goes, what is ethical, what makes a human a human, how closely should mankind get to creating human-like entities that are capable of thought and feeling and should they be used as slave labor (probably not).

On a lighter note, we're going to see the new Blade Runner when it comes out but probably after it's been out for a couple of weeks as my wife and I are somewhat reclusive and we don't like crowded theaters.

It'll be interesting to see what life is really like in 2049 if we're not overrun by A.I. (Skynet / killer robots that DARPA is surely already building) or some genetically engineered monstrosity (probably a disease) that's created in a bio-lab.

I was always kind of curious what the .mhth on your witness account stands for...now I know. Thanks again for the movie idea :)

I agree. Thank you! It was a good movie. A little dark and creepy.

Great review! Thanks for posting it. Yeah, I'm quite thankful about the lack of acid rain as well.

Definitely will! I hope you get to feeling better by the way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65858.36
ETH 3493.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53