Maze Runner: Death Cure - Movie Review

in #movies6 years ago

image.png

I am not ashamed to admit that I went to see the first two installments of the Maze Runner trilogy. Not necessarily because I was interested. The first one looked good, but just wasn't that good. I went to the second, hoping it would get better. I went to the final installment, Death Cure because I am already invested in the story. Although it was not any better than the first two. This is a series geared towards teens and tweens that fails to hit the mark (and success) set by Twilight.

image.png

A massive plague has turned the world into a dystopian wasteland. A group of children who exhibit immunity to the plague have been turned into lab rats by a corporation called WCKD. They are put through a series of trials to prepare them to survive the world. Or maybe it is to create chemical by-products in their bloodstream from which an antidote might be derived. Whatever the case may be, several of the children have escaped. The escaped children and other children who are deemed to be immune are hunted by WCKD and transported to the last city where they are subject to harsh lab tests and experimentation.

We begin Death Cure with an action sequence with some of the surviving, escaped children chasing a train that is transporting other children who have been captured to the last city. Minho (Ki Hong Li) is in one of the transport cars. Thomas (Dylan O'Brien) and the other survivors engage in a daring escape attempt that involves hijacking a helicopter and pulling off a great train robbery. The fast paced sequence ends with the kids rescuing the wrong cattle car of children. Minho is still destined for the city. The survivors have a plan to flee in a rusty ship to begin over on a distant shore. But Dylan is intent on recovering Minho. Leading a small band, the kids set off toward the last city to engage in a daring attempt to free their friend from the jaws of the beast. But they must contend with ghosts from the past in the process.

image.png

One "pro" Death Cure review I read indicated that this film is a stand alone film that does not require seeing the other films to understand what is going on. That is complete and utter nonsense. This film is wholly dependent on the existing storyline to move forward. There are numerous references, reunions and past plotlines that weave into the current story. While you may enjoy the action sequences, you will be lost in some of the dialogue if you have not seen the other stories. I had to put my thinking cap on to make connections to the previous story because I had forgotten much of the earlier story. It is forgettable. The story has some subtext related to class warfare and fascism, but it is primarily a dystopian survival story with teen heroes and heroines.

image.png

Death Cure relies on special effects and a few action sequences to engage audiences. The characters have a bit of development, but it is superficial. The plot is derivative, contrived and predictable. It is a vehicle for showcasing teen heroes for a teen audience, complete with big special effects. As a story, it is mediocre. The characters are given a degree of likability by the casting. While not necessarily credible, O'Brien brings charm to his character. There is a love triangle of sorts, played out with his two female interests played by Kaya Scodelario and Rosa Salazar. I didn't care much for either of them. Their characters are both far fetched and just not engaging. Aidan Gillen (GoT Littlefinger) has a bit of bad guy typecast working, but he is solid in that type of role. I liked his performance. The rest of the cast was decent.

image.png

Death Cure runs way too long at two hours and twenty-two minutes. The ending, in particular, was protracted. And it was erroneous as well. Thomas wakes up on a distant island, still suffering from a wound recently received. Fresh blood on the bandage and all. But they are already harvesting corn? Sloppy. The film started out with great pacing and bogged down as they tried to figure out how to tie things together. It felt a bit distracted at the end. The film is rated PG-13 for language, violence and thematic elements. Teens, tweens and older should be fine. This film is definitely geared towards the teens, hence the PG-13 rating.

image.png

Maze Runner: Death Cure is the final in a trilogy of mediocre films. Maze Runner had a score of 6.8 on IMDb, while it's sequel Scorch Trials had a tepid 6.3 score. Death Cure is currently sitting at 7.1 on IMDb, but that score will probably settle to around 6.8 given some time. My theory is that the fanboys are always first to see a movie, often distorting the early scoring. There is nothing new or special about Death Cure. The film has some decent action and great special effects. The acting is average. The film struggles to wrap up the ending, drawing the run time out far beyond where it needed to be. If you are a fan of the series, go see it at the theater. If not, wait for it to stream. 6.5/10.

Sort:  

I watched the first two and I'll stream this one later one. I also read the books. I think this movie doesn't try to be the new Twilight, but the new Hunger Games, something that most YA dystopian movies failed to do. I feel really bad for O'Brien who had his face seriously injured while he was filming this movie, I guess it wasn't worth it. The book had a better ending than the Divergent series and the movies didn't get canceled so it has that going for it. I do hope it's the end of silly YA dystopian movies. Make it good or don't make it at all.

True points.

Thanks for the review. I've seen the other two movies and I liked them. I think I had heard from my husband that this release was delayed because they had to stop filming when the main character was hurt in a motorcycle crash while filming? Broken ribs maybe? The trailer makes it look pretty intense. I'm a sucker for a teenie bopper movie. ;)

I think Dylan hurt his face or something. If you like the first two you will like this one. It was similar in quality to the first. Better than the second.

Surely they're closer to The Hunger Games than Twilight? But in any case, you hit the nail on the head. Decent, well-made, entertaining - but mediocre, unmemorable, and, as you rightly say, "nothing new" about it.

Definitely closer to Hunger Games. And don't call me Shirley. :)

I'm not judging you... I enjoy this kind of movies and sometimes I wonder why is it they're for teens? However, I missed this movie series. And reading your post just reminded me of a series I've been watching, The 100, also targeted at a younger audience...but I still enjoyed it...turns out it won't return until April...that's a lot!

I don’t feel judged. ;)

I liked the Twilight and Hunger Games sagas.

This was a good review @coldsteem! Thank you for sharing your opinions about it. My husband and I have watched the first two, both at the theater. I really enjoyed the first one, all of the suspense, mystery of what was really going on and the action. Then here comes the sequel. 🤦🏽‍♀️ I am not a fan of zombie movies, I stay away from the living dead type entertainment. When I realized they were going to have zombie like characters in there I was so turned off. Why does everyone want to start having zombies in their movies? My husband was fine with it because he can handle stuff like that but I was turning my head and couldn’t watch the whole movie because that stuff freaks me out lol!

So with that said I already told my husband he will have to wait to see it later because I’m not going to see this new one. I’m afraid it will be just like the second one so I’ll sit this one out! 🤷🏽‍♀️✌🏽

Lol. Nice. There are zombies in this installment as well.

Welp that confirms it! I definitely won’t be seeing this one. Thank you so much for the heads up!

I have seen the first one and I felt it started quite strong, actually I mostly enjoyed the trailer, the second I know I just watched for some action and did not want to have to really follow a plot, so thank you for this review as now when I need something while procrastinating and it won't matter much if I focus , like playing need for speed I will then watch this movie.

Lovely detailed review

First one was brilliant I thought, something a bit different and kept you guessing. Second one wasn't as great.
I'm watching this later on so I'll let you know on Discord what I thought!

Sweet. If you liked the first I think you may enjoy this one.

To be honest, I don't expect much from a movie where an evil organization goes by a name as on the nose as WCKD lol

I'd wait for it to come to home media like I did the first two. They were not bad but definitely not stellar either....just good enough as a popcorn entertainment.

This post has been randomly selected for a resteem by the Abasinkanga Resteem Service


I just resteemed this post to 4100 followers



  • Pay for more resteems: Send 0.005sbd + post link as memo to @abasinkanga
I am not a bot. Upvote this comment if you like this service

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48