My Take On The New Tomb Raider Actress

in #movie6 years ago

All this talk of Lara Croft made me go back and watch the first ever adaptation. And I have to say, it still holds up.

Now it's not exactly the best grave-robber story ever told, nor do I imagine it holding a candle to Raiders of the Lost Ark, but as far as videogame adaptations go, it's well worth its weight in tomb-raider gold. I dug it immensely and consider it a win for the long-suffering sub-genre.

Its appeal lay in its humour, its occasional silliness, and ah, but of course, the main character's charm. Angelina Jolie should have started a gel company after this because she was just dripping swagoo all over the place in these films. Legend has it sophistication leaked each time from the coattails of her wears as she walked.

LARA CROFT - TOMB RAIDER (2001)
Croft.jpg
As subdued and unexciting as the current incarnation of the heroine is in Alicia Vikander, I'm still intrigued for the sequels. To see her steady progression from trying to find her sea legs to the fully evolved protagonist. She doesn't have to transform into this full-on tomboy seductress like Jolie did but, a smidge of... how do you say, 'je ne sais quoi,' I think, would go a long way in spicing things up for the franchise. All the best to her.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59605.87
ETH 2518.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44