Must See KOREAN Movies - MOVIE LISTS #3 최고의 한국 영화

in #movie7 years ago

 Got an addition? Submit yours by giving a comment, upvote, and a resteem.  I'll share the reward with the top upvoted films in the comment section! 

I love movies, but this day in age, it's almost impossible to see them all.  There are so many countries competing with the world market.  Korean films now seem to dominate in the realm of drama.   I'm not talking US drama. I'm talking about what ever you think would be bad to happen to you, multiply it by 100 and you have some of the best Korean films.   If you can't stomach the dark, blood and violence,  Korean films may not be fore you. That being said..


TOPPING MY LIST IS

My Wife is a Gangster -  (2001)

"My wife is a Gangster" doesn't even compare to some of the others on this list, but I must give them credit for turning me on to Korean  movies while I was living in Taiwan in 2001.  I got to see it on the big screen.  It didn't even have English subtitles, but I sat glued to the screen.  Ah, the times.

This film gives an ode to Bruce Lee, and it incorporates comedy with sweet action sequences.  In a nutshell, a gangster woman needs to find a husband before her sick sister passes away (It's her dying wish), and there is nobody daring enough to marry her besides a clumsy, clueless tubby dude.   The gangster even had to hire a mom and dad to meet him. It's full of fun!  Don't expect much, and enjoy the ride. 

There's a sequel and a third, but seriously, don't waste your time.

Old Boy (2003)

After being kidnapped and imprisoned for fifteen years, Oh Dae-Su is released, only to find that he must find his captor in five days. -IMDB

Not to be confused with America's decent remake in 2013.  If you haven't seen that one, skip it and watch the Korean one immediately.  It's not for the weak-stomached as there is some hardcore violence and the plot twist itself will make some despise it.   If you think you got what it takes, get it NOW.  

The director made a trilogy of revenge. They aren't connected to each other in anyway other than revenge.  Oldboy is part 2 in the trilogy. It's beautifully shot, and tragically told.  They show violence next to some of the most wonderful classical pieces like The Four Seasons by Vivaldi.  There is a reason that Hollywood wanted to remake it - It's AMAZING! Watch out for the infamous "hallway fight" - all one constant shot of madness!

Why is it so hard to find an HD trailer of this film?  This is the best I found.


I Saw The Devil (2010) 

Oldboy was probably my favorites until this heavy-weight competitor came into my collection.  It has the same actor you like from Oldboy, but you just hate the assmunch in "I Saw the Devil".   He's vile and disgusting and you want him to suffer, but he's not the devil - he sees him.

Again, Korean is the king of tear-your-heart-out dramas.  In this film, the hero's love is raped and murdered. He pledges to make this man suffer the same x 1000, and boy does he.  He becomes the devil - an enraged man that wants to make this rapist sick "f" suffer.  Unfortunately  it all doesn't go so well.  

This is definitely not for the weak-hearted. There is rape, and crazy amount of violence. One  infamous shot is inside a car where the villain takes out a few cops with a knife as the camera spins around.  It's a thrilling nail-biter. Can you handle it?



Lady Vengeance - (2005)


After a thirteen-year imprisonment for the kidnap and murder of a six-year-old boy, Guem-Ja Lee seeks vengeance on the man truly responsible for the boy's death. With the help of fellow inmates and reunited with her daughter, she gets closer and closer to her goal.- Written by Spekkie Big 

Lady Vengeance is part 3 in the revenge trilogy that I mentioned with "Oldboy".  This is truly a visual piece of art, and I know it sounds bizarre, but I compare some of the visuals to the French film Amelie.  It could be the color scheme or digital effects.  It also has an fantastic well-orchestrated soundtrack.  Listen to it in the trailer below!!!

A Bittersweet Life - 2005

 Things go wrong for a high ranking mobster when he doesn't proceed by his boss's orders. -Imdb

So, it has our kickass hero from "I Saw the Devil" - who is also in "Ninja Assassin", 'GI Joe' and 'Speed Racer'.  It also has some of the same 'kill-yourself' drama but not quite as tragic as some of the others on this list.  It has a beautiful score. I don't know, Koreans love putting this beautiful music to the most violent, dramatic pieces.  Anyway, enjoy this revenge movie without worrying about the rape and TOO much blood. Expect blood.


Sympathy For Mr. Vengeance - 2002

This is part one of the  revenge trilogy. It's going to drain your emotions like a well needed piss.

Just when you think things couldn't be more dramatic, you toss this film into the mix.  What is the most heart-tearing is that you love most of the characters, and want them all to be okay.  They each have had an experience in their lives that made them make a bad choice. There is no villain or anyone that you hate and want gone.  That's what makes it most hard to watch.  I watched it with my buddy and afterwards, we looked at each other like , "What the 'f' did I just watch? That was emotionally draining!"  After I sat thinking about it a few hours, I ordered the dvd online. It's a masterpiece. 

It has a lot of static long shots that seem dead and silent. I think it gives us time to reflect a bit more.


The Man From Nowhere - 2010

 A quiet pawnshop keeper with a violent past takes on a drug-and-organ trafficking ring in hope of saving the child who is his only friend. -Imdb

All you have to do is read the plot.  I'm sold. Who doesn't want to see a guy take on these rings and save a child? Take em all down boy!  


SO...

...what am I missing?  Do you know a really good Korean movie? I know there are Korean's on STEEMIT! I see you guys posting! Give me some names!

  1. It can't be an anime.
  2. It should kick ass.
  3. It should have somebody living at the end. ;)

To check out my other movie list, click below

My "AMAZING Must See Underrated Movies " List - MOVIE LISTS #1 

Must See Japanese Movies - MOVIE LISTS #2


Sort:  

Old boy for sure. You missed " MY SASSY GIRL" 2001

I was going to add it to the list, but in reality, I've never seen it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57382.38
ETH 3075.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39