Must See Japanese Movies - MOVIE LISTS #2 これまで最高の日本映画

in #movies7 years ago (edited)

Got an addition? Submit yours by giving a comment, upvote, and a resteem.  I'll share the reward with the top upvoted films in the comment section!

I love foreign flicks, and I really love me some good action. This is my top Japanese movies to watch.   TOPPING MY LIST IS-

SHINOBI - 2003

If X-Men and Romeo and Juliet had a little ninja movie baby, it's name would be Shinobi. I think that's all you need to know to understand it's incredible.  You're very welcome! 

Zatoichi - (2003)

 The blind masseur/swordsman comes to a town in control of warring gangs, and while bunking with a farming family, he meets two women with their own agenda. (IMDB)


Zatoichi is like what Robin Hood is to England.  There are a ton of films and versions of Zatoichi, including a female version that came out a few years back.  That being said, this is my absolute favorite.  The blood is stylized and the sword play is top-notch.  It's a tad long and has kind of a strange ending and dance sequence.  That being said, it's insanely good with great characters and scenes you can watch over and over.  You're welcome, again.

Lady Snowblood - (1973)

 


If you liked Kill Bill, you'd fine more than one similarity between that and this movie.  A woman is getting revenge against a few bad guys with similar camera shots, and even more,  the theme song was stolen by good old Quentin.  I don't blame him for loving this movie!

I have to say, the plot in this movie is even more heart-wrenching than the one in Kill Bill.  Can you imagine being born only to get revenge for the father you could have had? Meaning, the one you are getting revenge for wasn't even YOUR father because you were a product of  the prison guard and your mother - again, just for revenge. The insanity!


Street Fighter Series - (Including Sister Street Fighter)

If Japan had a Bruce Lee, it would be Sonny (Sinichi) Chiba.  He had the looks and the facial expressions that almost seemed to emulate Bruce.  Granted, he's not as quick, and probably not as well trained, but these films are super awesome.  And, Quentin used him as the infamous Notori Hanzo, the sword maker.


Seven Samurai - (1954)

Before the "Magnificent Seven" there was  a cool Japanese movie where the plot was stolen and turned into a western. That's right, this plot is exactly the same, only the original.  It's old, but it's really good!

Blind Woman Curse - (1970)

With a plot similar to Zatoichi, I wonder if her character is based off the folk tale.  It has the lovely woman from Lady Snowblood. How could you go wrong?


Battle Royale - (2000)

I'm going to admit, it's not my fav, but it is a cult classic.  Kill Bill again, took one of the girls from this film, and used her in the scene with the spike ball in the restaurant.

The story is gritty, bloody and hardcore. A  bunch of kids kill each other off until the best survives.


Azumi - (2003)

It's far from perfect, but it was pretty good, last I remembered. I couldn't find a decent trailer, but check out this awesome fight scene.


So what am I missing?  Do you know a really good Japanese movie?

  1. It can't be an anime.
  2. It should kick ass.

To check out my other movie list, click below

 My "AMAZING Must See Underrated Movies " List - MOVIE LISTS #1


Sort:  

"Audition" :)

Agreed, Takashi Miike's Audition is definitely my favorite (non-anime) Japanese movie!

Haha :) Nice list. Battle Royal and Azumi are favs of mine. Seven Samurai of course is a great and famous movie.... and actually I'm not sure I've seen any of the others, so maybe I should check out! Cheers :)

Great choice. I remember watching it years ago, but I'm not sure why I can't remember the plot! My list is lacking great Japanese horror movies as well, but I suppose it's all about taste. All the good Japanese horror films have been remade.

@iggyg85 Don't forget to resteem to solidify your "Audition" nomination! ;)

i man i really like japanese movies they are so badly good :) plus on some that you cant fly the fights are amazing :)
nice post man

Thanks a lot! I appreciate your comment! I will be doing a series. Korea movies are next!

Do animations count? Some is on my list?

I will have an animation list later. So keep posted!

love ur article thanks for the vote o mine... can u look at this article I think you might like it. https://steemit.com/animals/@whitedolphin/dying-for-your-pleasure-the-extinction-of-orang-utans

I have not watched them till now but now surely i will do so.. Where do u think should i start from.. https://steemit.com/joke/@santoshbhatta/lmao-read-at-your-own-risk , do read once..

thank you for sharing nice information about movies list

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59388.79
ETH 2578.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47