Pele: Birth of a Legend (2016) Movie Review

in #movie8 years ago (edited)

In the movie Pelé: Birth of a Legend (2016) we see the birth of Pele, real name Edson Arantes do Nascimento. He was elected Athlete of the Century by International Olympic Committee in 1999. This is my review!

Image of Pele: Birth of a Legend

I love the two kids who played Pele and the Pele cameo when the Brazilians was juggling the football in the restaurant towards the end. Nice. Certain parts of the movie gave me chills but what really hit me the most was the strong deep messages in it like always have fun, and embrace your self, your style and your heritage. When you become ashamed and afraid it affects your game, no pun intended but when you fully embrace who you really are, and have fun you'll always succeed. It raises your vibration. It's so simple a lot of us miss it and thinks it not really that important. It is. I even make that mistake from time to time. Like the saying goes, our greatest fear is being afraid of how strong we really are. Another lesson is about being concerned with what others say, and always trying to fit in with what society thinks is best for us. Be original and have fun!

Image of Pele

On other note, Brazilian football lost that ginga style of play referred to in the movie. The last time I saw Brazil play with that ginga style was in 1990 and 1994 Football World Cup when I was a boy. Many people as well as myself instantly fell in love with Brazil. The ginga style Brazil had was majestic! Now in the last decade or so I see Brazil playing a more European style of play, which in my opinion is not the best thing for them. Don't get me wrong, you can reap rewards from it but it will not bring about your their potential and that is very evident for Brazilian football in the last couple of years and the movie Pele - Birth of a Legend makes the same point, which is lovely! It's like the writers/director wanted to send a message to the audience as well as Brazilian footballers (if they happen to watch it) I totally agree with their point, another reason I liked the movie so much. Brazil need to go back to their roots and then they'll go back excelling like in the glory days.

In the last decade only two players I see use the ginga style, Ronaldinho and Neymar. The interesting thing is that those two are the best Brazilian players in the last decade, proving the point and message of the movie Pele.

Best movie of the year so far for me! Watch it and be your own judge!

Sort:  

It is amazing how his life has turned around despite of challenges around him. Good review! I also posted an article of the same movie. You can check it out https://steemit.com/motivation/@cjclaro/pele-birth-of-a-legend-what-can-we-learn-from-the-athlete-of-the-century

Nice review :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60364.09
ETH 2378.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57