10 Classic Movies that you should see.

in #movie6 years ago

Yesterday night I was watching for the second time Alfred Hitchcock's film, Rear Window, and then it occurred to me to publish a Top 10 of classic films that every person should see besides Rear Window, which is an excellent movie by the way.

Imagen1.png

>>Source <<

Camera.gif

Casablanca (1942)

One of the most outstanding films of the classic cinema of all the history is Casablanca. Believe it or not, Casablanca was originally based on a musical called Everybody Comes to Rick's, which never came to be performed. This representative film of intrigue in black and white was a boost in the career of Humphrey Bogart, who proved his worth as a dramatic actor in this film set in the French colonies during World War II. Fount of inspiration for many later dramas and also for tributes and parodies, this film by Michael Curtiz has gone down in history as one of the best-known films of its decade.

Citizen Kane (1941)

Orson Welles loaded a poisoned dice against the tycoon William Randolph Hearst, writing, producing, directing and starring Citizen Kane in 1941. This tape narrated the miseries of an eccentric media tycoon, which loneliness and isolation ended up reaching after of a life full of excessive ambitions and autocratic behavior. Although at the time Citizen Kane was a failure at the box office, it ended up becoming one of the best rated films in the history of cinema.

Nosferatu (1922)

Nosferatu was one of the great vampire films of all time. F.W. Murnau directed this free version of Bram Stoker's Dracula, presenting a rather deformed and monstrous version of the vampire to avoid rights issues with Stoker and his heirs. With the passage of time, Nosferatu has become one of the best horror films in history. Even though it is black and white and is silent.

All About Eve (1950)

Bette Davis and Anne Baxter star in one of the most tense actress duets in film history. All About Eve is one of the mythical films of black and white cinema. The film is about how a young aspiring actress manages to enter the environment of a consummate veteran star, becoming little by little with the control of her allies, stealing the fame, position and even the affection of their friends and family.

The Great Dictator (1940)

One of the great masterpieces of Charlie Chaplin. In the film a satire is made about the III Reich and the figure of Adolf Hitler, establishing an enormous similarity between this and a humble Jewish barber from the suburbs of the capital of Tomainia (a fictional Germany). Inspired by elements of the documentary Triumph des Willens de Riefenstahl, Chaplin created The Great Dictator one of the best films in history.

Sunset Boulevard (1950)

This film is another of the cinema classics that have been parodied countless times and that has also served as the basis for many tributes. Sunset Boulevard tells the story of the decline of a silent film actress, who turns a prestigious screenwriter into her lover, in a desperate attempt to return to fame. Reflecting the complete divorce with the reality that the actress lives, the film shows us the darkest side of Hollywood in her time.

Metropolis (1927)

One of the most important and influential science fiction films in history. Metropolis is one of the best exponents of German Expressionist cinema. As a parable, this film by Fritz Lang proposes a dystopian society, set in a possible 2026, in a huge megapolis whose society is separated into two castes: that of the workers, who live in miserable conditions, and that of the leaders, who has a luxurious life. To avoid a workers' revolt, the leaders of the city supplant their most charismatic speaker, Maria, for a robotic double, which will fan an unsustainable climate, leading to confrontation between both classes.

Psycho (1960)

Alfred Hitchcock's best known classic. Psycho is a story based on the twisted serial killer Ed Gein. Because of this and the disturbing history, the British filmmaker wanted to take the project forward. Although the play went well, consecrating this film as one of the greatest thrillers in history. Psycho is deservedly among the best films of Alfred Hitchcock. That is why it is one of those movies that one should see once in a lifetime, even if it is to understand the many references that we find throughout the history of cinema about this film.

To Kill a Mockingbird (1962)

Robert Mulligan directs this adaptation of Harper Lee's novel. Set in Alabama, we follow the memories of several childhood summers Scout Helm (the author herself and narrator) in her native Alabama. Scout recalls how his father, Atticus (Gregory Peck) had to defend a black man falsely accused of raping a white woman and how he earned the contempt of his community for doing what his conscience dictated, fighting in court for the innocence of your client.

Twelve Angry Men (1957)

Forget about all the movies that I have mentioned so far, this is the best one according to my judgment, this movie should be obligatory for everyone who is going to participate in a jury. Twelve Angry Men is a classic film, set in the deliberation room of a jury. All its components are committed to declare the accused guilty, except for one man, who sees irregularities in the process, so he raises only one thing, the doubt.

Well, these were my recommendations, I hope you can have the opportunity to see some of these wonderful works of classic cinema. And if you already saw one, you can comment what your impression is.

See you in the future!

Sort:  

I've literally only seen 3 of the movies on this list Pyscho, Citizen Kane and Casablanca which were all brilliant in my opinion. I guess I have a new homework assignment with 7 movies to check out thanks @martinmcfly

Those are some very good movies. I would recommend you to see Twelve Angry Men when you have some time available.

I've seen many of them and all I can add to the list is Double Indemnity (1944) and A Touch of Evil (1958). Pi (1998) is an amazing black & White but it's pretty modern. Also it gave us one of the best directors of our time.

Those are good movies. I haven't seen Pi, but it's on my list.

Wow i like this! am gonna see all of this!

Congratulations for a curie-vote!
You picked some really classic and good movies and it reminds me on old TV-times when we've got only three programs. I loved in particular those with Gregory Peck. What a handsome guy he was.

Nosferatu I like also as it creates such a strong mood with so little use of technology. Though back in time it was probably state of the art technology. It's more of a theatre play than a movie, I find. Actually, many of the old movies were more theatrical and could have been played also on wooden stages (in principle). The realism of todays movies I sometime look at a little torn as one may subconsciously take them more for real than it is healthy:)

I guess whole culture influences began to take place up from the upcoming cinema era and started to replace personal narratives given from parents to children, say the storytelling tradition within small circles of people (like family and villagers). I observed my own behavior in storytelling and made sure that I gave nutrition to my son when he was little through our family history as well as from fantasy and old tales books. Films also played a role but I like the mix of everything.

Now we can already look back about a hundred years of movie making.

My brother, wo was visiting a cinema first time as a little boy (that was in Russia) was totally shocked by this experience. He watched a cowboy film and the big screen and the fast moving pictures almost overwhelmed him. He did not understand anything of the plot and left the cinema utterly confused. He told me that he had to get used many times to moving pictures before it became normality.

Thank you!

Nosferatu I like also as it creates such a strong mood with so little use of technology. Though back in time it was probably state of the art technology. It's more of a theatre play than a movie, I find.

Yes, that movie transmitted the same to me too.

I observed my own behavior in storytelling and made sure that I gave nutrition to my son when he was little through our family history as well as from fantasy and old tales books. Films also played a role but I like the mix of everything.

That's really a good thing, it allows you to establish a good dynamic with your child, and transmit family knowledge.

My brother, wo was visiting a cinema first time as a little boy (that was in Russia) was totally shocked by this experience. He watched a cowboy film and the big screen and the fast moving pictures almost overwhelmed him. He did not understand anything of the plot and left the cinema utterly confused. He told me that he had to get used many times to moving pictures before it became normality.

Haha, that's a good incident.

Hi martinmcfly,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thanks for your recommendation! To me only Nosferatu, Psycho, the Great Dictator and Casablanca are familiar... I need to see them again and the rest of the movies on your list too.

What's your your opinion about Seven Samurai by Akira Kurosawa?

I have not seen Seven Samurai yet, but it's among the first 10 on my list, I'll see it soon, it must be very good, I've been recommended that movie a lot. The films that you have seen from the list are very good, I would recommend you to see Twelve Angry Men, it is an excellent movie.

Thank you for recommending the list of ten @martinmcfly movies that I will be reviewing one by one to enjoy with the family at home. Your selection of classic movies is interesting. I hope you enjoy them soon. A big greeting.

Thank you! Greetings to you too!

Wow what a fabulous review, I think I saw about three German movies here that was dated really way back into the early and mid 90s as well, The Great Dictator for me is awesome because I think it's satirical and narrated the memoirs of Adolf Hitler which of course I do not know so much about, great funny movie that tells a biography.
And amazing review too.

Thank you! Yes, The Great Dictator is an excellent movie, it's good to know that you saw it.

Thanks for the recommendation @martinmcfly. I have heard of Casablanca, Sunset Boulevard, Psycho and To Kill A Mockingbird but not the rest. Thank you for including the trailers too for us to catch a quick snippet of them. Of these movies, which do you like best or recommend to watch first?

I really like Twelve Angry Men, I think I would recommend seeing that first, it's very good.

Ah ok, I will look for it. A happy weekend to you @martinmcfly :)
Oh, and I love the Back to the future series :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01