The Disaster Artist (My Spoiler Review/Thoughts)

in #movie7 years ago (edited)

overlay.jpeg

“I tit not it errr. Izz nawt tru!! Its bullshit. I dit nut Hitler. I tid naAAAawwwt. Oh hai Mark!”

This film has been out for two weeks so I'm going to include SPOILERS for this. You have been warned.

Its been a loooong time since I watched a movie that is drama/comedy. Normally I'm the type of guy that watches popular movies like Fast & the Furious, DC Universe, Marvel Cinematic Universe, Pacific Rim, Avatar, Harold & Kumar, The Hobbit, you guys get the idea of what I'm into. Since this is my review I am going to be somewhat biased. I for one took theater arts during college and I had to do a bit of acting so I can definitely relate to Greg when he suffers from stage fright. Also I for one am trying to be famous on Steemit so I can definitely relate to these two trying to get big on Hollywood.

What is this movie?
This movie is based on real events. It is about these two people (Tommy and Greg) trying to be big in Hollywood by making their own movie called "The Room" which is one of the worst movies ever made. This movie is composed of the friendship and the lives of Tommy and Greg and also composed of behind the scenes in the makings of “The Room.”

What made me watch this movie?
The trailer definitely grabbed my attention to watch it. It is entertaining to hear the way how Tommy Wiseau played by James Franco speaks. People watch this mainly for Tommy Wiseau and his personality.

Tommy the long haired guy you see in the picture is a mystery. You don't know where he is really from and he keeps saying that he is from New Orleans. You don't know where he gets the money from or how he manages to have a place in San Francisco and Los Angeles. Since I'm from California I know how expensive it is to live in any one of these places. I say San Francisco is more expensive than Los Angeles and you need to make at least $50K-$75K just living with roommates to have a decent living. You don't know his age and he keeps saying that he is Greg's age. Tommy is a mystery who keeps his background a secret which makes the people so interested in him and his backstory feels mysterious pretty much like the fictional character Joker. Joker in the film, The Killing Joke said that if he has a past he prefers it to be multiple choice.

Getting back to topic I love how the film first start off in an acting class where Greg and Tommy first met each other.

The bromance between these two:
overlay.png
I love the chemistry between them. They are opposites of each other and they say opposites attract. Greg is shy but has common sense while Tommy is completely reckless but fearless and ballsy. You see them go back to back emotionally supporting each other about their dream to be famous to be big in Hollywood with their pinky swears and consistent dialogue of them reminding each other to never forget their dream. In the first 30 minutes of the film you can definitely feel the friendship they share together. From the beginning to the ending you see their highs and their lows and you really feel for the two.

For me, I like the first half and the last 15 minutes more than the rest of the film in between not because it is better but because the rest in between has the most drama and I'm not the drama guy. I love how this film is not a cliche. A cliche version of this would be them making "The Room" then the two immediately become big actors making a ton of money living the dream. Good thing the ending is different. I love the ending of how Tommy realizes that people did not enjoy it as a drama but enjoy it as more of comedy with scenes of him screaming,
"YERR TEARENG ME APART LeEsUh!!!!"
"Y LeeEeESuUH Y"
“I tit not hit errr. Itz nawt tru!! Its bullshit. I dit nut Hitler. I tid naAAAawwwt. Oh hai Mark!”
"AnYTiNg furrr my prinsess"

You got to admit Tommy is not a smart person but you got to admire the way how he finished what he started. You also got to admire Greg's loyalty to Tommy in that scene where he threw away the opportunity of playing an extra in Malcolm in the Middle to help finish the movie. Before watching you probably think Tommy is a retard but after watching you see so many sides to him. You see his serious side, him being an asshole to the crew, you feel his pain, you laugh at his funny moments, you just love the guy.

This film is a niche others would describe this as a niche of a niche but it is relatable especially for people trying to be famous actors. This film has sad moments but it is not a sad film and it has plenty of humor and friendship. I would definitely rewatch it again in the future and rewatch plenty of the scenes. Watching many of the scenes makes me wish that I have a friend who share the same passion as I do as a blogger and we tell each other that we will be whales on Steemit. Also this film was based from the novel which I will definitely read when I have time.

If you are a theater arts major this film is definitely for you!!! Or anybody who loves acting and theater arts in general!!!

Watching this makes me want to actually watch "The Room" so I can laugh at the horrible acting. They say "The Room" is a shitty movie so shitty that it is the good shit like me when I make jokes that are stupid but I make it really stupid on purpose I (rarely) make people laugh. I haven't watched "The Room" but it is definitely a better love story than Twilight.

My grade for this film:

Extra Comment:
I just had to watch this movie twice because my first time wasn't pleasant. The first time I watched it I had to move my seat two times because the guy sitting next to me was laughing extremely loud in almost every scene and these fucking teenage girls won't shut the fuck up during the 10 minutes of the movie.
Who knows? Maybe if I get big on Steemit I can use this platform to get me into Hollywood and be a famous actor!!! I always wanted to be an actor like Jesse Pinkman from Breaking Bad, Agent Mulder from The X-Files, or a superhero from Marvel Cinematic Universe. Make me hero in film...or villain...whichever one makes me look like a badass.

If you guys enjoyed my movie review for "The Disaster Artist" check out my other film reviews:
Thor: Ragnorak (My Review)
Justice League (My Spoiler Free Review)
Justice League (My Spoiler Review)

Hope you guys enjoyed reading this!!! If you like it upvote and follow me!!! Also upvote and follow me if you love my movie reviews!!! Stay tuned and see you guys in my upcoming blogs!!

Follow me on Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/blink182isthebomb/

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @l82matthew182 to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55255.10
ETH 2314.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33