Movie Tip #6: Hunt for the Wilderpeople (2016)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #movie7 years ago

After I had some pretty rough thrillers as #movie-tips before, here comes a light weight comedy-drama.

Hunt for the Wilderpeople (New Zealand, 2016)

IMDB link: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt4698684/

As mentioned above, this is a pretty easy to digest movie.

Taika Waititi (director) got some major recognition for 'Boy' (2010) - it was also the first of his movies, that I watched. I watched it, while being in New Zealand and after visiting some of the places it was shot at - Maybe that's why it felt so familiar ...

Hunt for the Wilderpeople creates the same homely atmosphere, while being a bit easier.

Waititi appears as an actor again, along with other familiar faces from 'Boy'.
Even comedy heavyweight Rhys Darby makes an appearance and should make this an instant Kiwi classic.

I'm not sure if I should call it a children's movie, but it certainly is a bit silly sometimes.
Nonetheless it is a social critique at its core and a pretty deep reflection on the Kiwi mentality.

As always, I will not write any spoilers, but encourage you to just watch it.

I like it heaps.

For this movie I recommend to have some snacks while watching

If you liked it, you can come back here and leave me a vote or comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57776.16
ETH 3060.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35