Nazi Punks, Fuck Off! - My Green Room Review

in #movie8 years ago (edited)

WTF did I just watch? A slasher-siege-horror mindfuck so amazing I had to write a review straight away..

There is no way I could review this movie without acknowledging how endlessly impressed I was from start to finish, so, spoiler alert: This movie kicks ass. Green Room tells the grizzly story of a broke punk band on the road, ending up involved in some seriously bizarre and dangerous shit.

Fed up and running out of options, they agree to play in a secluded club venue, deep in the woods of Cascadia. The audience: An organised gang of Neo Nazi thugs. Starting their set with Dead Kennedys "Nazi Punks Fuck Off ", they are suddenly rather less welcome. Of course, when one of the band members sees something he shouldn't have, any remaining welcome they may have had is abruptly brought to an end, and thus begins a most bloody, intense clusterfuck.

Anton Yelchin (above) plays Pat, arguably our main protagonist. He spends the whole movie battling for survival, while simultaneously pondering the all important question - "What is your desert island band?" (no really)
If you hated him in Star Trek as much as I did, don't worry, his performance here far beyond makes amends, and under the unfortunate circumstances of his untimely death, it's wonderful to see him go out on such a high note.

Much has been made of Patrick Stewarts performance as Darcy, the cold-blooded gang leader. I found it understated, but perfectly so. His character is gimmick-free, making him all the more convincing. You might recognise the dude beside him at the bar in the picture above. That's Macon Blair, who starred in Blue Ruin, another film directed by Jeremy Saulnier. Whether the color thing in the movie names is a coincidence or part of a loosely linked slasher series remains to be seen.

Imogen Poots (above) steals the whole show for me though. She plays Amber, a nonchalant, dangerous Nazi, with a killer haircut, a torn allegiance.. oh, and a box-cutter. There are a few clever laughs along the way but action and suspense are top of the menu. The movie grinds along for 90 minutes without the need for an over the top musical score. Instead we have utter grittiness, with nobody safe, and no object spared if it can be used as a weapon, including fire extinguishers, dogs, and microphone stands. Get the idea? This movie was instantly one of my favourite slasher/horror movies of all time. Don't miss it.

Sort:  

Ooft, well that's me excited then. I didn't even have this on my radar!!!

It's epic! Hope you like it. Apparently Quentin Tarantino called GREEN ROOM "The most sensational out-of-the-blue film I've seen".

Damn, its been out a while. I was hoping for cinema view but will have to watch in the house. Still, it sounds great and I watched the trailer, magic!

I've been really torn over if i should watch this or not, I'm not adverse to a bit of uncomfortable viewing if the film making is done well enough, but i'm not sure if i want to sit through a couple of hours terror and violence just for the sake of it.
I do enjoy horror films but usually just for the comedy factor i'm leaning towards watch after reading this though it might be fun to actually get scared for the characters for a change.

yes it is, but i don't get a lot of tv/movie time so I am really fussy about what i watch.

I completely know where you're coming from @phoenixmaid. While there is a bit of violence, it's not one of those horrors that plays on your nerves non-stop, or insists you can taste the blood rolling into your mouth. There is plenty of action, a few great laughs, and even some almost tender moments. What I mean is, I'm a total wuss and I'd still watch this on my own, no problem.

I was expecting this to be along the line of' this suuuuuuuuucks " but ...i now put it on my list :D

Nice one, I am surprised this got through my movie net.

It almost slipped through mine too.

One of my favorite movies of the last few years.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.3

Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise. Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66217.28
ETH 3507.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.15