You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Geeky Dad's Movie Guide: The Prequel

in #movie-review8 years ago

I don't need to have no stinkin' kids to watch no stinkin' kids movie!
Okay, I've borrowed a few kids but they were perfectly happy once I gave them some popcorn and candy. j/k!
The prequels were pretty terrible, which is sad because they had a lot of great actors who didn't seem to connect at all to their characters or each other. I think we can put partial blame on the writer and director for that. Oh wait... That was George Lucas, wasn't it? But J.J. Abrams did a bang up job on Ep. 7 and Lucas reportedly hated it. Yup. I think Lucas hates his fans. Sadly Abrams is not directing Ep. 8 so I have no idea what to expect!

Sort:  

I was shocked how bad Natalie Portman was. When I saw that, I knew it was the director. I'm convinced he said "Pretend you are a block of wood with no emotion at all. In this galaxy, no one has any real emotions". I have faith in Abrams setting up the series for success. He's great at starting stories... not always the best at finishing them. And you are right... I love kids movies even without my kids. The difference now is I don't get to be as choosy. For example, I would have never chosen to see "Middle School: The Worst years of my life"..but today I threw away 2 hours of my life on that. Now give me Finding Nemo or the Lego movie... those I'd love no matter what!

YES! They were all so wooden. Honestly, I would pay for a prequel remake if JJ Abrams was allowed to remake it. The CGI was too busy and so distracting. I think Lucas was probably just pushing the technological envelope at the expense of his characters. There was really no easy flow.
I haven't seen the Lego movies, but I adore Finding Nemo. And if you can find it, your kids might really enjoy The Iron Giant.

Took my niece to iron giant in the theaters when it first came out. Excellent call!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61020.40
ETH 2603.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65