You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Taking risks: it gets easier with practice

in #mountains6 years ago

complacency could be a factor

This is so true! I have Rheumatoid Arthritis and can fall over nothing. I have done it many times. I try hard to watch where I am going and pay attention always. It's in the moment I am distracted that disaster befalls me.

I have another example of your thoughts on practice. I tutor people for big exams in Accounting and Finance that go over a few days time. The people who take my advice to take lot of timed practice exams normally do well. Those that do not - often fail. Some people think the practice is not worth the effort, but they are usually wrong.

I am also someone who talked late and in full sentences, so we have this in common.

As the same in all your posts I see - never would I ever do what you do on these mountains. But it is really fun to look. You have wonderful photos on this one and just tell those people to mind their own business and leave you to your fun!

Sort:  

Thanks for your interesting comments @fitinfun. I'm the same actually - I don't have arthritis, but I still used to be able to fall over my own shadow! I had a terrible fall 18 months ago where my face smashed against a rock and I lost 5 teeth, and had to be airlifted to hospital, as it happened at an altitude of 3,000 feet. I was running at the time, and I'm convinced it happened because I was distracted by the beautiful scenery. I always use walking poles now, to help me focus.
But I don't use them when I'm scrambling, as you need your hands as well as your feet - and that means your attention is fully focused all the time. Maybe that's why I love it so much. It's a mindful activity.
That's also a great point about the Accounting exams. I'm hoping to do my Mountain Leader assessment in a few months time, and I'm putting in all the practice and preparation I can now. Hopefully it will pay off!

I am sure you will pass with flying colors.

So sorry about your fall. My worst one was in a bedroom, so it can happen anywhere. I can see how the beauty could be distracting though.

The important thing is to do what you love. Your love of this climbing always shows though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61238.93
ETH 2454.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59