Donner Summit Panoramic For #MountainMonday

in #mountainmonday5 years ago (edited)

Well, I considered going out for a sunrise shoot this morning but decided to workout instead. While I was working out, I saw a nice sunrise from my living room. Then, later this morning, I saw a local photographer post a photo of this morning's sunrise at Donner Lake. It was incredible!!! Doh!!! I really blew it by not going out this morning so I have no new photos to share and I'm feeling a bit frustrated about it.

But I did want to share this panoramic photo for @keithboone's #MountainMonday. It is shot from the Donner Summit area and you can see Donner Lake in the distance. This area of Donner Summit is one of my favorite places to go for a hike. The views are hard to beat.

This was actually one of the images that made it into my recent photo exhibit. I printed a 20"x60" canvas print for the show and I must say, it looked pretty sweet when printed that big. More about that exhibit can be seen in a dtube video HERE.

click image to view larger
Untitled_Panorama1 DSummitSunrise.jpg
"Donner Summit Sunrise 1"

Shot with a Canon 5DS R and a 24-105mm lens set at 24mm. Multiple photos were combined in Photoshop's Photomerge feature in order to create the long panoramic image (I don't remember how many photos were combined). The ISO for each of the images was 100, the aperture was f9, and the shutter speed was 1/5 second. A graduated neutral density filter was used on the lens in order to darken the sky and balance the sky's exposure with the foreground.

I remember that it was actually snowing a bit and it was very poor visibility with the low clouds when I was walking out to this spot in the dark before sunrise. I got "lost" when trying to find the vista point I was looking for. Fortunately, I was able to use Google Maps to determine where I was and I was able to find the vista point even in the difficult to see conditions.

Thank you for looking and reading!

Scott Thompson
Scott Shots Photography
portraitandlogo200.jpg

left.gifscottshots.gif



Sort:  

I upvote and resteem Donner pass. A great place to hold a party too! :)

Hahahaha! I'll bring the appetizers...
Actually, I live down the street from the Donner's Emigrant Trail and less than a 5-minute drive from the supposed "party" location.
Thank you much!

Thank you! Yes, it's an incredible area up there. Cheers!

Haha! Yes, you are correct... I can't help it, you can ask my family, I always get super frustrated when I miss an incredible sunrise or sunset, lol. Cheers!

Very beautiful beautiful photo and its scale delights me!

Thank you @magnata! There is a whole lot of scenery showing here, about a 180-degree view.

Spectacular photo, Scott! That is incredible scenery! Thanks so much for posting in Mountain Monday! Voted & resteemed

Thank you and thank you @keithboone!!! Yes, I love that area, such great views. Cheers!

That's sweet! Resteemed!

Glad you like that and a big THANK YOU!

Hi @scottshots

This is a cracking shot.

Upvoted, and resteemed.

Mark

Thank you Mark! Much appreciated!

Howdy sir scottshots! oh that's an amazing photo! dang. What state is that taken in?

Thank you @janton! California. Truckee, near Lake Tahoe.

howdy again sir scottshots! yes sir I actually know where that's at. Not that I've been there, unfortunately but a company we used to work for was based in Truckee. Thanks for the answer!

Ah, very cool. Yeah, if you ever get a chance to visit the area, I'd highly recommend it. Cheers!

Come to Poland to photograph our Tatra Mountains :D

That does sound like a lot of fun... Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97