Joshua Tree National Park views

#MountainMonday by @keithboone

My mountain pictures today were taken from Keys View in Joshua Tree National Park in Southern California.
From up there you can see the San Andreas fault, Mt. San Jacinto, and Mt. San Gorgonio.

image

image

My biggest surprise was that you can actually see the San Andreas Fault. I had no idea that it was a visible thing! It's that dark line running through the valley

image

image

If you were standing on this same spot next year you would be two inches further south than where you are now. The distant mountains would be two inches further north. In 60 years it would be 10 inches, in 3 million years it would be 10 miles!

I am looking forward to seeing lots of bird and animal shadows this week!

Shadow Photo Contest Round 58-Animal Shadows



Posted with eSteem

eSteem Footer Line

[email protected]
eSteem.app | ‍GitHub | YouTube
Telegram | Discord
Vote for @good-karma as a witness

eSteem; mobile and desktop client for Steem

Proud to be a member of The Steemians Directory

image

Sort:  

wow! that part of the state is moving toward the ocean? And I had no idea that you could see the San Andreas fault either! dang, that's wild! Great photos here Melinda, well done!

Thanks! Yep, I envisioned it being a mysterious crack deep in the earth. I had no Idea it was a visible thing!

I guess you didn't get close-ups of it? I guess I should google it but I thought I had before and I didn't actually see it, just maps showing where it ran.

I think if you go further west there are a jeep tours that take you out to the fault. Joshua Tree National Park was the furthest west that we went. We were staying in Arizona and we did the drive over to Joshua Tree just to see the park and then we drove back to AZ. I had no idea until I got there how close the fault was or anything about it.i wish we would have spent more time there!

yes like if there is a huge crack in the earth you could go stand on the edge and take pictures! maybe that's why they advertising the fact that the fault is there, they don't want people from all over doing that!

There are several YouTube videos about exploring the San Andreas Fault, and while there are cracks in the Earth I didn't see anything that look like a huge chasm where you can see down into the center of the Earth! Just a lot of places where the Earth had heaved up and rocks had been pushed around. The Indian tribes in that area live in huts made of palm branches because if there is an earthquake falling Palm leaves won't kill you the way that a falling building would. It would be a really interesting area to explore.

Oh that's interesting, especially about the palm branches and huts! lol. It would be something to visit!

Well it certainly is much closer for you to drive there then it is for me! I suppose it's going to be a long time before your wife gets any vacation time though

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you!

Hello Meli, spectacular photos of those mountains and the mysterious failure of San Andres, thanks for sharing them

Have I ever told you how delighted I am by the nickname Meli? I I think you are the only person who calls me that, and I love it! I'm so glad you like the photos.

LOL seriously? I'm glad friend

Most of the time it just gets shortened to Mel. I like Meli better!

Very beautiful places, nice shot. Thanks a lot for sharing with us :)

Thanks! I appreciate your kind words!

Buenas tardes amiga @melinda010100 deseo que se encuentre bien linda imagen . Deseo que tenga una exelente tarde.

Gracias, espero que tengas una semana realmente maravillosa!

That's a lot of peaks too @melinda010100, beautiful though. Do those mountains growing or moving?

Yes... They move Noth by 2inches every year!

Wow, that first shot is stunning! Beautiful mountains. I've been to southern California a bunch of times but never made it to Joshua Tree. That's now on my list! Thank you for posting in Mountain Monday! Voted and resteemed :-)

Thanks Keith! I was really glad that we took the time to drive over to Joshua Tree when we were staying in Arizona. It was certainly a memorable experience.

Great shots. Love the captured sun beams in the last shot.

Thanks so much!

Truly extraordinary. As a lover of true nature, I want to explore the mountain, it seems I will find extraordinary moments someday.
Thanks for this My friend

It is a big wide wonderful world and I hope you get to travel and see lots of it!

Neat photos and perspective @melinda010100, even though I
DO understand plate tectonics, it is still rather hard to
Wrap my head around the reality of it when you
Put it into physical perspective like this.
100% upvote... Good job

Thanks, Jerry, Hope you have a good week!

Now begins a busy time; tomorrow my 2nd visit to the new Chiro
Wed I perform at PBV (one of my long time clients)
Thu I have a VA Psych at 9 am, then I perform at another long time
Client that afternoon at 2.
Sun 3/1 is my sister's birthday (72)- we aren't on good terms right
Now.
3/5 I perform at another LTC in Tucker
3/6 I have an Echo test with my Medicare Dr.
3/7 I have a regular Medicare Dr appointment.
3/11 is my first meeting with my ORTHO Dr to get the ball rolling
On my

Hip Replacement!!!

Wow! You are in the Doctor loop! I hope that all works out the way that you wanted to. Have fun with all your performances.

I want to get my mobility back pain free.
I WANT to be able to begin performing at the same level I was at 18 months ago; 4-10 performances a month,
at an average of $85 each.
Now I'm lucky to get 3 a month and I have to pay someone to help
me move my gear.
My bank accounts are at their lowest in 6 yrs, and I now have
Disability which pays me about 1/3 as much as that music
did before the hip pain became debilitating.
If I could get back to playing again, I would be in great shape.
Music is the only thing that makes me happy; helping other
People feel better (and getting paid) what could be better?
Sorry @melinda010100, I didn't mean to snap at you. ♥💓♥

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66137.20
ETH 3543.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56