Mountain Monday ~ Bighorn Mountains, Wyoming

in #mountainmonday5 years ago (edited)

It's 6:21 AM, let's roll...

ddip67cj5p.jpg

Sunrise on the hotel strip in Buffalo. We're heading for the Bighorn Mountains, I hope the weather holds. I think we went to a Diner for breakfast right after I took this shot. I love road trips!

l62seuwvya.jpg

We head out on highway 16 which crosses the Bighorn National Forest. Around eight in the morning, at roughly 9,000 ft elevation, we can see these clouds over the road ahead. Totally freaked me out! I didn't understand what I was looking at. I thought maybe the world was ending so I tried really hard to make a nice composition :-)

t9yu37wb7r.jpg

We had to drive on but I stopped every few minutes to take more photos of those crazy clouds. Does anyone know what they're called? I think they might be Lenticular clouds.

0hsfpe5be9.jpg

We've come out from under the cloud and we're starting to see the side of it. I wish I'd taken the time to shoot this photo over the fence. That fence shouldn't be in the shot.

hapji1x5wb.jpg

Beginning our descent from 9,500 ft. That's a fairly high mountain pass... I think that's Loaf Mountain you see there - Bighorn Peak would be behind it. Check out the layers in the clouds! The poles you see all along the road are about 10 ft tall, and they are there to guide the snowplows.

5ih9wzlv8c.jpg

Coming down through the canyons. That's West Tensleep Creek with railroad tracks on the other side.

0fnwr6xuuy.jpg

It was quite a drive coming through there, very pretty countryside.

lm4agcadl6.jpg
(All photos were taken by me with Nikon D750 camera and 24-120mm lens.)

And the road goes on...

That's all I have for this week. Let's see your mountains!

Sort:  

Sorry @keithboone, I must also overrule you on the fence. It gives good scale and it is a cool fence anyway. Someone with a good eye and great skill made that.

Here is my pitiful entry for this week:
https://steemit.com/esteem/@fitinfun/mountain-monday-looks-off-a-kuala-lumpur-balcony

Your every photo is astonishing as always. Those clouds are simply amazing and your catches are so great. I'm so happy to see this post today :)

Ok, I will consider myself overruled, thank you! I'm going to check out your post now. Your posts have never been pitiful and I don't believe the latest one will be either ;-)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you @pixresteemer!

Awesome clouds! I agree with @goat-girlz I like the fence in the pic.

Thank you! About the fence - I guess I'll just have to take yes for an answer :-)

haha..well so far it is two against one..lol

I LOVE these! Those clouds are amazing! I disagree about shooting over the fence, though. I think the fence gives it a little perspective. Plus, I'm a sucker for split rail fences. How long ago was this?

Thank you! I don't mind the fence in the first and second shot, but that third really bugs me. Oh well, doesn't matter, it's just a moment in time :-) This was October 23rd, 2014.

Howdy sir Keith! what state is this in? It's amazing. And I have to agree with fitinfun, I think the fence looks great. The wildest looking clouds I've ever seen though!

It's Wyoming, silly. You really have to get out more :-)

hey how was I supposed to know that?? Besides, that's what I have this computer for so I don't have to travel! lol.
I like Wyoming. So did Butch and Sundance.

It was in the title. :-)

lol! oh. hey, it's late and Jack was distracting me! driving me crazy wanting to go outside.

Who is Jack, is that your dog?

Love those swirly clouds in #4 . Never saw anything like that .

If you squint just right, it's a cat's paw, pressing down from the sky.

Those clouds are just amazing! Second photo is awesome ;)

Thank you! That's my favourite of the bunch :-)

Wow keithboone, they are crazy clouds. I find clouds entertaining, they are always moving and different each day.

Clouds are pretty and entertaining but these ones scared me at first. It's funny because I don't think it was even windy that day, but when I first saw the clouds I thought it was a super-tornado or something!

This is one amazing picture!! I love that sunset😍😍

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks a lot, glad you like it :-)

You' ve been selected always in support of good work

Largo mensajes.jpg

Individually, we are one drop. Together, we are an ocean.
- Ryunosuke Satoro.

Do not forget to use our tag #phototalent & #talentclub & #positivexposure

You can see our daily report in this link

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66274.97
ETH 3175.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06