Dolls Cradle Project for Issue V of the The Lost Scrolls of HANDWORK Magazine

in #moulding6 years ago

This is the cradle I plan on building again for Issue V. The dolls cradle in the picture is for my niece and a prototype. The beauty with this cradle is that it's not a factory replica of a factory style finish. With that I mean it's not spray painted, but hand brushed. I made and used my version of chalk paint. I experimented with all different finishes and found this one to be the best.
I also made it easy for shipping by making it a flat pack. The only part I haven't included is the Allen (Hex) key with the product. Hardware stores are selling a single for $5.00 which I feel is expensive for a throwaway tool.
The odd thing though that surprised me the most with this project is that I took the same time to make the M&T for rails and stiles as it to bore out a few holes for simple butt joints. The reason it's so quick is that I no longer chop out the mortise instead, I bore it out with my brace and bit.
Tomorrow I will make another for a friend of mine for his granddaughter. I believe I will start article on the third one.
_DSC2203.jpg_DSC2204.jpg_DSC2205.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63478.31
ETH 2604.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83