You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: When you can't ride due to injury and you see an old pic :(

in #motocross7 years ago

I can certainly identify with you on this one. It was a bit different for me. My father got into the sport when I was young way back in the early 70's. I got my first bike, a Honda MR50 at 4 and was soon racing. I got to meet some of the legends in those days as a kid. Roger DeCoster, Brad Lackey, Bob Hannah, as well as many of the European riders. Hekki Mikola and Marty Smith were two of my heros. I eventually moved up to an Suzuki RM80 but my parents divorced and going to the track became impossible. I continued to love motorcycles and at one point bought a Yamaha Yzf 426 and returned to dirt riding in the early 2000s. Approaching 50 now, my motocross riding days are over but I still love the sport. I'm hoping to either find a local track and partner with them here in Acapulco or start one. Maybe even start a Husky dealership since I'd love to see the sport grow here.

Sort:  

Awesome story @mikeonfire! You certainly did meet some legends mate! DeCoster was a phenomenal rider and i think is suited to KTM more than he was on Suzuki. He had a great technical style, not too dissimilar to Dungey and Musquin have which is always amazing to watch. Some riders are just flat out pushing themselves past the limit but i always enjoy the technical riders more.

Was great to hear about your past and maybe you should do a write up on it? I for one would love to see or hear anything you have on the subject :)

Also pumped you are still enjoying things and that you have plans for the future! Keep me posted on how it develops mate :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57383.94
ETH 2450.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40