You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why the Steemwhales are upvoting Crap instead of Your Masterpiece - And why you should be Happy About it

in #motivational8 years ago (edited)

damn.
Though I have to admit the steemwhales can all learn a bit from the community as the community can learn from them, you do have some damn good points. At least I can say that although I do little things like "fuzzbombs" where I upvote lists of people who are participating in conversation, I definitely upvote a cute girl doing makeup and other things for precisely the reason you say---they get eyeballs which means they bring eyeballs here. And yep, that does mean everyone who thinks they are getting the short end of the stick actually does benefit from the people she brings.

However I will take it one step further and say that we need to help people realize that all the people in their networks (irl or on the inet) have great value and if they all join because of you and upvote your content (that you wouldn't get paid for at all by other social media btw), you all will get paid.

At first it is not much, but one thing I will assure you is that in the 2+ years that most steemwhales have spent (not even talking about out of pocket expenses) making the tech available, each person who joins steemit today could at the very least become a formidable great white (not to mention an army of great whites by their sides).

The power is in your network as much as it is in your content. Steemit actually enables you to empower yourself by empowering others who trust and value you. Name another social network that can do that!

@johnsmith, you will likely do very well here and I don't say that because some might think you are ass kissing. I am saying it because you seem intent on stubbornly producing good content. (By which I mean I laughed a good bit and ended up realizing that one point you made was salient--keep trying and as more users come we will build more strength together).

I cannot speak for all whales, because I am kind of a baby whale I suppose, but I will say that I am very interested at this stage in helping upvote projects that help steem. So if anyone who is upset thinks they have solutions lets talk! If not--go back to facebook people, where you will never get paid anything but will be censored and seen as a useless idiot for Zuck to suck on.
;)

Sort:  

There are so many great people from Bitshares here! For those not in the know, Fuzzy is a legendary contributor to the Bitshares project that helped develop the tech we are all enjoying right now. Respect. Thank you for your kind words. It is an honor!

And then there's "Zuck to suck". I don't know what to do with that.

lol thanks @johnsmith. I am indeed a bit crazy in my interest in the idealism (and brilliance) behind bitshares. This is actually the main reason I stuck with BitShares--because the founding fathers would cry if they saw a blockchain with actual separations of power built in.

That is why I stubbornly hold on. I'm so glad for steem and steemit though man. It is going to be great to watch this new graphene chain show the world what the tech we all sacrificed so much for can do ;)

wow @berniesanders you have officially hooked me up on that upvote.
I still think you are better (and more effective) than the real Bernie Sanders though :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58044.48
ETH 2352.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36