LIFE BEYOND BLACK SPOT

in #motivation6 years ago


Art work by @vic-essien


Look at the image above. What is your focus on?

If large percentage of your focus is on the black spot, then translate to reality on how you channel more attention to your life disability.



Image Source

My name is Peter Eze. Six years ago, I worked as a project engineer for an oil processing refinery earning good pay weekly. My weekly pay could take care of my needs but I never felt sense of satisfaction. I felt I haven’t broken the iron edge of my life mission. I felt thirst of something psychological, something unimaginable missing in my life but still I couldn’t figure out that unimaginable missing piece of my life.



Image Source

As days glide by, this unimaginable phenomenon I felt was missing in my life brought untold depression to me. This made me resign from my job. This action brought a lot of reactions from my friends and relative. They felt I have took the most stupid action of walking away from a Job with a high pay able to grant me satisfaction.
Few weeks after resigning from my job, I signed up as a volunteer for an NGO. The objective of the NGO is to identify individuals living with physical disability and train them with skills that suit their disability for them to use the acquired skill to earn a living.


Just few weeks of working for the NGO, I loved the job, I felt satisfaction and I thought I had discovered the unimaginable missing piece of my life until my near death experience.
Two year ago on a cold evening, strolling down to a supermarket, I felt a hard knock on the top left side of my back which pushed me to the ground. I was about turning back when I felt something sharp pierce through the side of my stomach. I couldn’t shout loud nor turn to see the source of all the pain I felt.
I opened my eye, seeing myself in a hospital with a large bandage around my waist. I turned to my left and saw a gentle man who narrated how I got to the hospital. He was the savior of my near death experience.


Few weeks after my recovery, I received a report from the Doctor, a report which many will perceive to be a life death sentence. I was diagnosed to be HIV positive. The report was dramatic and so hard to believe. During my near death experience, the knife I was stabbed with was already infected with the Virus.


I was severely traumatized by the report for nearly one year. I couldn’t tell anybody. I felt my life wasn’t valuable anymore. This retarded my prestige, I became stigmatized that I felt I could hid within the cloak of myself.
After two months of receiving the report, I resumed my job with the NGO. Working with the NGO, I became inspired by those living with physical disability on how they were able to earn a living despite their disability. I then discovered that my disability of been HIV positive (black spot) isn’t the end of my life, I am still valuable and there is still a lot I could achieve.


Image Source


However, every individual is unique and valuable. We all have dreams and life time goals to achieve. Your disability (black spot) which could be psychological, biological or physical isn’t a limit for not achieving them. You have greater strength (white spot) to achieve them despite your disability (black spot). There is more to live for, focus more on the white spot, the brighter side of life than on the black spot.


Sort:  

Wow.... Great post @vic-essien
Originally i would have centered my attention on the black side but then i realised i would be doing more harm then good to my future.

That little dark experience may have been painful but it should not be enough reason for me to ignore the whiter brighter side of my life.

Exactly @samuelwealth . Our focus should always be on the brighter side of life.
thanks for stopping by.

It isnt always an easy decision.

In life what you focus on to a great extend influence several others facet of your wellbeing.

Its not always easy to focus on the positive especially with a lot of negative side attractions. But it pays off well in the long run if you focus on the white side.

It's frustrating and unbelievable how we most times allow the black spot blind us of our potentials and even deny us of an opportunity to explore our innate abilities. This post tends to highlights or uncover the limitless opportunities abundant in the white spot.
Wonderful piece @vic-essien, well done.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00