I Do Not Choose To Be A Common Man

in #motivation7 years ago (edited)

How many of you have ever seen or read this quote by Dean Alfange?

Read it, internalize it, live it.

My Creed

I do not choose to be a common man.

It is my right to be uncommon.

I seek to develop whatever talents God gave me—not security.

I do not wish to be a kept citizen, humbled and dulled by having the state look after me.

I want to take the calculated risk; to dream and to build, to fail and to succeed.

I refuse to barter incentive for a dole.

I prefer the challenges of life to the guaranteed existence; the thrill of fulfillment to the stale calm of utopia.

I will not trade freedom for beneficence nor my dignity for a handout.

I will never cower before any earthly master nor bend to any threat.

It is my heritage to stand erect, proud and unafraid; to think and act myself, enjoy the benefit of my creations and to face the world boldly and say – ‘This, with God’s help, I have done.’

All this is what it means to be an American."

Dean Alfange

I'm pretty sure Dean Alfange would have approved of Steemit.

#minnowsupportproject

If you enjoyed this post, upvote, comment, resteem and follow @theblindsquirl then go on over and Tell Me What You Think of This Post

Sort:  

🙌🏻

So much for letting my Voting Power recharge today. ;-)

Not gonna search to see who's right 'n who's wrong...I'd back a blind squirl over a contrarian_bot any day of the week...what a useless function.

Good words to live by...regardless who said 'em first.

~may all hatred cease...let there be peace~

Not, not useless, I think @cheetah is definitely useful. But it's fallible, just like everyone and everything else.

That's why I forgive it.

I'm not even going to suggest/demand that they change it so you can protest it. I think my reply says enough to keep people from viewing the post negatively because of the upvote.

If anything, upvote my reply to @cheetah.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66233.88
ETH 3561.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.14