60 Days Experiment Completed: 25 push-ups every HOUR to increase ENERGY & SELF-AWARENESS

in #motivation7 years ago (edited)

As a 5 years+ freelancer, I am always trying to get effective habits that can keep me on the right track. For the last 60 days I've been experimenting push-ups from 9am to 8 pm.

My purpose was to make a quick bio-chemical change in order to achieve the following:

  1. More energy
  2. Increase testosterone level
  3. Get a constant boost of motivation during the work hours
  4. Get out of the comfort zone and push my limits (this is a big achievement)
  5. Build muscle mass without going to gym (save $$$ and time)

sport-1815736_960_720.jpg

In the first 2 weeks I felt a lot of frustration because I was not used to that many interruptions.

How I actually did it?

I installed an app on my phone which triggered an alarm each hour, from 9am to 8pm. Just a beep was enough.

I can't tell you how many fu** offs my phone got in the first 2 weeks. If I hear the beep while I eat, I stop. If I hear the beep while I am coding something that needs me to be laser focused, I stop. That really pissed me off but I continued.

What did I gain in the last 2 months of hourly push-ups?

  1. I've build a better tolerance against interruptions
  2. I can refocus easier. That's a big win.
  3. I am more present.
  4. I am more calm and balanced
  5. My hands are stronger and the pectoral muscles are 30% bigger.
  6. My energy level has also increased - I wake up each day at 6 am - before this I had troubles getting up at 8 or 9 am.
  7. I am more optimistic - I've learned to expect results in 6 months, 1 year - this is a good mental training for entrepreneurs/freelancers
  8. I increased my confidence and I have the feeling that I can do it - it's just a matter of sticking to the idea and do what you committed to do!

Though during the first 2 weeks I was really frustrated with my new habit, I am more RELAXED now and I recognize the benefits.

So will I continue with this habit?

Yes - I will update again after 365 days and will post some photos too. I am slowly increasing the number of push-ups I do each hour, to maintain the challenge - the purpose is to keep me outside the comfort zone.

So, planning to reach 40 push-ups per hour in the next 6 months. It's just a matter of 30-40 seconds each hour! That's 6-7 minutes of workout per day. Insane results for so little time! Just think about it!

I really encourage you to install this habit if you want to get all these great benefits.

And just ask yourself: "where would you be mentally and physically in 10 years if you would do this daily? What about 20 years?"

➤ follow me if you want to see more experiments like this!

Sort:  

Congratulations @stepanadrian! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95