Lessons for life from football

in #motivation6 years ago (edited)

16AAF206-571C-4A1E-98DE-E74E2FCD0589.jpeg
I played football for many years. It is a grueling sport.
It’s very competitive and teaches you that preparation is very important, both mentally and physically because It drains your strength, both physical and mental. It’s tough physically and mentally to play sports due to the physical wear and tear, but the mental wear and tear from the emotional high of winning and the corresponding low of losing that is also draining.

But I learned as I am sure others did, both from my victories and my losses.
Perhaps I learned more from my losses, then my wins.
From my wins, I learned how to celebrate and be nice to the team which lost and this is an important skill.

But from my losses, I learned that even when you try hard you can lose. But losses are not permanent because tomorrow we can win.
From, my losses I learned that it’s not how many times you fall down, it’s how many times you get back up and try again.
From my losses, I learned it’s not just getting back up, instead it’s how you get back up.
I learned not to be proud of losing, but that I could be proud of how I handled the loss.
I learned to congratulate the winner politelyand behave like a gentlemen. We use to call that “class”.
I learned get back up with class and to be positive about how I would do better next time.
You learn to encourage your team mates, support them emotionally and you learn to reassure them, that you have learned from this losing experience and you will do better next time. You learn from the losses and turn them into wins, because what you learn from losing helps you win.

1D4EC70E-0A5A-4587-8905-85F612AA22D1.jpeg

Sports is good preparation for life, if you have good coaches, who understand the important things sports can teach us to be successful in life.

Sports teaches us to work hard, because preparation is important. This is needed in sports and in life.
Sports teaches physical toughness, but also mental toughness. Both are needed in sports and in life.
Sports teaches us to be happy in victory, but also courteous to those we beat, so we learn class and grace.
Sports teaches us that to lose doesn’t make us losers, because tomorrow we can win.
Sports teaches us grace in the form of good sportsmanship as we congratulate the winner when we lose.
Sports reminds us that today’s loss is soon replaced by tomorrow’s victories if we learn from our mistakes.
Sports teaches us that both victories and losses are team victories and team losses, so we learn the importance of teamwork, cooperation and the power of supporting and encouraging our team mates.

These attributes transcend sports and are invaluable in life.

To me, these things are the true value of sports. The records you set can be quickly broken and even the championships soon forgotten. But the lessons learned and the good character forged in the hot stove of competitive sports lives on in the lives of the men and women who play sports. This benefits not just them, but society as a whole.

@shortsegments
40ED8AEC-ECC2-4663-AD0F-DB3EF893889C.jpeg

Sort:  

These are very good points about the positive impact sports has on the character of the athletes.
☺️

Thank you.

I can relate to this SS your right on the money, I feel like you but I think you put my feel8ngs into words so well I am gonna borrow yours and beg for forgiveness later
😆😂🤣
jk just kidding I will give you credit in the footnotes and put your stuff in quotes !

I enjoyed the article and it really made me think about why sports are important for young people and I agree with everything the article said. Sports teaches us not just to athletes, but to be better people also. It teaches us how to compete, how to win , how to lose and how to persevere. It teaches us to remember the lesson not the loss.

You just planted 0.06 tree(s)!


Thanks to @shortsegments

We have planted already 3790.54 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 30726.00
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

You got a 35.20% upvote from @seakraken courtesy of @shortsegments! Release the Kraken!

You got a 50.00% upvote from @voteme courtesy of @shortsegments! For next round, send minimum 0.01 SBD to bid for upvote.

Do you know, you can also earn daily passive income simply by delegating your Steem Power to voteme by clicking following links: 10SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.

This post has received a 4.21% upvote from @lovejuice thanks to @minnowpond. They love you, so does Aggroed. Please be sure to vote for Witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses.

You got a 2.43% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @minnowpond!

You got a 1.72% upvote from @automation courtesy of @shortsegments! This is a service sponsored by @yehey. Please consider voting @yehey for Witnes. Use this short URL link https://on.king.net/witness simply click and vote, this will redirect to Steem Connect for secure connection.

Interested to earn daily? Delegate Steem Power to receive 90% payout rewards. Use this link https://on.king.net/automation to delegate SP to @Automation.
If you need an extra upvote, join us at https://SteemChat.com discord server.

WANTED SP DELEGATION. Let your Steem Powers (SP) works for you. Delegate SP to receive daily payouts. Choose the amount of your delegation. Start small or go big, it's all up to you.
10 SP
50 SP
100 SP
200 SP
500 SP
1000 SP
2000 SP
3000 SP
5000 SP
10000 SP

Have a lovely day.
@Automation - Keep Steeming for a better future.

Say Hello to @Automation Chat Bot to start a fun conversation. Managed by @Yehey [ Witness ]
Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser website.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63183.53
ETH 2643.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78