#Myokayest Day Was Yesterday and it's Because of Prescription Medication

in #motivation7 years ago

Clarity comes in all shapes and sizes. Mine comes in pill form in two prescription bottles. One turns down the volume on my depression, the other relieves my anxiety. Taken together, I can achieve almost any task. My mental illness is managed, I can perform simple acts of self-care, provide for my children, complete my work and achieve goals beyond my meeting my responsibilities. No lie, it is AMAZING.

lucky-charm-1418125_640.jpg

I have been a high-functioning, depressed, anxious person for so long I had NO IDEA this level of function was possible. Now, it doesn't happen every day. PTSD is complicated. I experience all the types of flashbacks (physical, somatic and emotional), so even with these meds, the deck is stacked against me. But I CAN SEE the deck is stacked against me.

I was never able to see it before. It's like knowing there's water in your glass but never how much.

Now I know how much water (or spoons) I have most of the time. I can make educated decisions about what to do and what not to do in each day. I can manage my stressors and triggers and still be present for my kids. Or I can do what I did yesterday that made the day my okayest in awhile: walk into my therapist's office and rattle off a set of fully formed goals to work through with him.

I'm ready to level up. Because I can. Because my medications make it possible for me to see my flaws and not shut down from shame. Or make a mistake and suffer no panic attack. Or even go on (very short) grocery shopping trips. Have my kid bop me in the face without a visual and somatic flashback accompanied by dissociation and an hour crying on my closet floor.

I get to be a person.

And I'm really, really proud of this choice. It was a long fight with inner Shawna to accept this type of help. It has not gone so well in the past. Especially as I'm enmeshed in a community that touts holistic, "natural" healing to body and brain.

Hey, I tried that for a long time. I did have some benefits. I still use natural supplements. But they aren't enough. My brain was landscaped through repeat physical trauma over seventeen years to grow the way it has. I accept that. I accept myself and my needs, even if that package looks different than my expectations.

Yesterday, I took my medications as I have every day since their prescription. I talked to my therapist about hard topics. I lived in the moment as much as possible. It wasn't great, but it was okay. I did my okayest.

image from pixabay.com and is not meant to equate drugs with candy, rather health with sweetness

Sort:  

I'm glad you had an okay day yesterday! :) I, too take medication and it makes life bearable. Aren't you so thankful that we live in a time where modern medicine like this is available? I've even considered doing a grateful-vibes post about it haha, because honestly, it sometimes is the only thing that helps me to function when life is hanging by a string.

God bless you!!

I am deeply, profoundly grateful. Not even kidding, this medication makes it possible for me to enjoy my children. Without it, I just resent them and that is not who I am or who I want to be.

@minnowpondred has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an BiggerUpvote send 0.5 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an BiggerUpvote and a reSteem send 1.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

That is the best explanation I have ever heard explaining what depression and PTSD is. I am so glad you are doing your okayest!

Thank you! If you are doing your okayest, use the tag. I’d love to read and support you. ❤️❤️❤️

Sharing this, and your journey is so powerful and healing for others. So many are against taking medications that could potentially affect their quality of life- for the better.

If someone reading this feels this way, please do your research and have a sit down with a doctor you like- seriously, that makes all the difference. You never know, it may be helpful.

YES. A trusted doctor is key. I have been with mone fir about 10 years now. He listens to me. He believes me. And he works hard to help me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58664.80
ETH 2569.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42