Never stop learning

in #motivation6 years ago (edited)

Source

I often compare the challenges of my life to the challenges my dad faced at the same age. They seem to be vastly different, but I'm sure he did not find his challenges easier at the time. We all have to learn new things and grow to the place where we have those new things under control. And while things are unfamiliar they always seem difficult until you know how to do them.

The big difference, I think, lies in the fact that at some stage my dad was fully in control of the skills required to do his job. In contrast, I am finding it difficult to get to that point. There always seems to be new things to learn and new skills to acquire.

Years ago I read somewhere that in today's job market you need to acquire enough new skills to do a completely new job every four years. Even if you still have the same title on your office door, the skills you need to do the job will have changed. My dad worked at one company his whole career and got a gold watch when he retired. This seems to be a thing of the past. You need to re-invent yourself often and any company by whom you are employed will also be re-invented a number of times. You need to keep growing.

We all know the old saying: 'Jack of all trades, master of none.' Your endeavours to upskill yourself should not be completely random. It is recommended that you focus on a specific area and become an expert in that area. I agree with this but there is a problem with this approach. I recently heard it described this way.

To become an expert, we need to focus on learning more and more about less and less. Before long we will know everything about nothing!

This is a bit tongue-in-cheek but explains the dilemma. I know I cannot know everything about everything. No, seriously, I cannot and neither can you. You have to make some choices.

John Maxwell makes a statement that sounds something like this. I'm quoting from memory.

The secret of success in life is for a man to be ready for his time when it comes.


I want to encourage you today to

  • keep on learning
  • never think you know it all on any topic
  • keep on learning
  • choose wisely what skills you develop
  • keep on learning
  • prepare well for when your moment comes.

The internet is filled with learning opportunities. I hope you will use at least one of them this week.

@reonlouw

You can win five shares of @steembasicincome! Take a look at this contest.

Saturday Celebration #5

There are three winners and you have until Saturday!


Sort:  

Brian Tracy showed thats the main cause why people earn shit, they just stop at some point and for the rest of their life the line of progress is flat

Great post!
Thanks for tasting the eden!

Congratulations @reonlouw ! You received a 16% upvote from @kryptoniabot & @kryptonia for your task of 1515 SUP Today.

Remember to receive votes from @kryptoniabot

Run a task on Kryptonia.*Join free here Kryptonia Account
Use the tags KRYPTONIA or SUPERIORCOIN in your Steemit post.

Delegate to the Kryptonia Upvote by clicking links: 10SP , 50SP , 100SP , 500SP , 1000SP

Due to an increased amount of tasks, we have changed up the voting power to evenly spread out the Upvote amount.

I absolutely agree with you and we should never stop learning because almost every day or in every new situation there is something to learn always. Kryptonia ID @mejia_martinez

Learning is important to life. @kryptonia @blogjeremiah

the learning never stops no matter how old we get. What we do with all this knowledge and if we ever put it to good use is of course up to us! Claudiaz - kryptonia

Im impressed. I have to continue studying.

Reading this rang home some really similar comparisons, my father was one of the best fitter and turners in the country and even was headhunted to go to the USA, of which he didn't otherwise I would be American or not even here at all. I always remember him saying when I ran various businesses, "Get a proper job" although no longer with us, I always respect how hard he worked for his family and hopefully I can match that.
Your @kryptonia n friend @socialmediaseo

Hit the spot! I completely agreed with you. We should never stop learning new things and skills because we are living in the new era where we have to update ourselves with the updated information every time.

@kryptonia

totally friend @reonlouw. You always have to keep learning. I, I rule under one rule: To be today, better than I was.
Kryptonia ID: @edward_stobia

Wow!What an inspirational entry. That is precisely I just need just now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63316.74
ETH 2581.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79