I QUIT!

in #motivation6 years ago

They say that winners never quit. Well that is not entirely true. Being a winner also mean knowing when to quit. That moment you have accessed the situation and realized that the only way to stay aloft is to walk away. I will give you an example to buttress what I am saying here.


Have you ever worked for a company whose cooperation culture is dehumanizing? All they care about is the success of the venture with little/no attention being paid to the welfare of the employee? All they want to see is profit, profit, and profit.
As a matter of fact I once did! I resigned my role before I could even spend a year. There are many reasons why employees quit a job, top of which is the kind of superior/manager they work with.


It was back in 2016 when I worked at a telecommunication company in my country. It has been my desire for years to work in the telecoms (This particular company especially). I have always wanted to make the ‘big money’ and enjoy a fulfill life with my family.
In the year 2016, I find myself living the dream when I got an offer. It was a dream come true right?


33772074972_777fae408f_z.jpg
[image credits: Flickr: Attribution 2.0 Generic(CC BY 2.0)]



I mean I have tried to keep up with various happenings in the company. First thing I noticed when I came in was the fact that the management does not value the staff or their contribution to the growth of the company. Awkward I know, I am not writing this to gain any form of popularity or anything else; it is just what it is.
My offer letter says I will work for seven hours within which I am entitled to 45 minutes break. Well I noticed people hardly use their break period because of the demand of the job.


My first blow came only four days after my resumption. I had gone through the whole process, I signed on the attendance sheet, went for briefing, and got a system to work with and work I began doing. I had worked for 4 hours when my boss called my attention to the fact that the system didn’t record I was working! Not my fault right? But that was not the case. Note that about 70% of the computer systems they provided are not working properly and series of complain by the staff was met with deaf hears. I had a confrontation with my immediate boss who insisted I will have to make up for the four hours again after others have left claiming that is how it is done. That was a confirmation to me that I was in the wrong place and I knew my days there was numbered. As if that was not enough, whenever we have power cut or system down time, and we are unable to work which is clearly a management problem, we will still have to make up for the time. So a 7 hours’ work could end up becoming a 12 hours work.


They stop the staff bus from working under any trivial commission or omission from them. For instance, they may claim there is no money to fuel the bus, or that a staff had an argument with a driver and the driver obviously is more important than the people who do the job (that is to them) so the bus will not be working for 3 months!
The driver will them sit down doing nothing and still receives his salary while the staff goes through the peril of day and night to keep the money coming. During this period, many staffs member will be robbed of their belongings because we have to come and leave work at odd hours when you are vulnerable.
That was just a bit of all the ill-treatment the company lashes out to her staff members.
You ask me if the company is rich enough? Actually it is company that pays celebrities billions for advert.


Indeed it was and it was an experience I don’t wish to have again. One faithful day, I got to work and the only thing ringing in my head was Resign! Resign!! Resign!!!
So I tender my resignation letter to the amazement of most of my colleagues.


[image credits:(Author:McSmit) Wikimedia Commons, Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Generic License]



What amazes me is that my colleagues then who are still with the company keep calling me to ask if I know of any job opening. They said the condition has even deteriorated beyond what use to be and they are desperate to find another place.
Many have become stuck in there for many years and have resigned to fate hoping that a miracle happen very soon. Maybe I got lucky, but I was not going to settle for less. I will rather be on my own than be in an organization where my contribution is not valued.
The best way to go is to be self-employed. Especially if you are living in a developing country where there are lots of business potentials that is not yet tapped. Of course we all cannot be business owners; some will still have to work in companies. My advice in the respect is to develop yourself such that what you can offer will be irresistible but do it in humility!

76738710_0b864eeca3_z.jpg
[image credits: Flickr: Attribution 2.0 Generic(CC BY 2.0)]

Now there are so many things we need to quit. Take for example procrastination, drug abuse, child abuse or any form of vices.
Don’t let the fear of the unknown keep you down. Improve yourself and have faith in your ability to succeed. Being a winner doesn’t mean you will not quit certain things.
Have an inspired day!

Sort:  

obamike i will give you 5100 users resteem and 0.040 SBD worth vote contact me i will tell you how to earn 1 to 4 SBD in every single day Contact me on discord : farhannaqvi7#1327(Its communication plate form )

Congratulations @obamike! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89