You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I do not believe in privilege

in #motivation6 years ago

Well said. We all should really focus on our own potential and see the potential in others.

I do believe that it is possible to rise above your station.

And while you spoke primarily about wealth, people also see it as the opportunities they have, or the ability to move from class to class or fulfill their desires. Wealth can pretty much provide that, which I think is your main point, but I believe the opportunities to improve are everywhere, as you also say.

If we can care less about what others have, while working diligently toward what we want, potential gets realized.

I, too, have found that building a life, one that includes family, friends and memories, provides wealth, too. A legacy rich with joy and happiness.

Sort:  

There's much truth in your reply.

Money was actually one of my last focuses in life, it was simply a by product of my character. I wanted to become a great programmer. I did not care about the bank account. But it caught on later. Even with that said its one of my last focuses in life.
And its probably the one that satisfies me the least. I am actually somewhat of a minimalist. I generally only buy things on practical grounds. Otherwise. No.

Back on point, Anyone can better their life. And its a good feeling. To look back and be satisfied with what you have achieved. I think that's true for everyone. I also feel this focus will differ among people.

What I was talking about was mainly success. But I did not touch on purpose. Purpose is a different game.

To me money is really just a little bit of security. But even with financial security your life can be a mess. But without financial security life can be good too.

This subject goes so deep because I believe what the ideal life would look like will be different for everyone with some common elements. Conflict free relationships are good, being knowledgeable is good, being in good health is good, having more money than you "need" is good. So the skeleton is the same. But what we do with it will differ. Me, I gained financial freedom, This caused me to start working more. Not less. Because my ideal life is one where I push myself and try to be a positive change the world.

Someone else might want to travel. Spend more time with family.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64112.50
ETH 3174.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54