Where In The World Was Gillian That Day?

in #motivation6 years ago


Steeming Out And About


About this time last year I was getting a bit overwhelmed by my Steemit experience. The amount of time I was spending sitting in front of a computer screen, without moving, was getting out of hand.

Before I left for a weekend trip away I'd started trying to get out of the house and be around people more but I had problems getting the internet to work in my favourite cafe.

The break away was a great opportunity to take a step back and find a new perspective.

I was determined, when I got home, to find somewhere else to work and to move around more.

Once home, I went to the cafe over the road and started by taking photographs for a post, which resulted in my ending up in the local library.


20180405_130038.jpg

Be sure to click on the arrow to view it full screen!

It was great to be reminded how much I love working in libraries. Takes me back to my student days when we all used to congregate there, do some studying and then all head over to the bar.

I've often wondered whether I should perhaps have trained as a librarian. 😁 I like the calm, peaceful environment although, when I was younger, I doubt it would have suited me so well.

After a couple of hours it was time to get moving again not least because someone came in and sat at the table opposite. He was talking to himself and laughing out loud which was a little distracting, 😂

The two girls, sharing my table, left fairly pronto and it seemed a good time to follow suit.

Next I moved on to another branch of my favourite cafe to test whether it was the internet service or the router in the other branch that wasn't working for me.


George St Neros.jpg

It took a while but I eventually got connected so it looks like it's the specific router in my favourite cafe. Good to know.

I spent some time writing some emails I'd been putting off and then returned to some commenting on Steemit.

All was going well until another character came in and sat opposite me. Apart from the constant sniffing and wiping of his nose on his sleeve the bigger distraction was his turning on his phone to watch a documentary at full volume, without ear phones! WTF!!! 😂

Trying to concentrate with all that going on and the cafe music playing loudly through the speakers was beyond my skills so I packed up and went home.

Overall it was a good day though and since then the getting out and about has developed into a bit of a habit.

Today, for example, I'm working along side a friend in a local cafe. This seems to have become a bit of a Monday morning routine. 😁

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Sort:  

Good for you to get out and do something different. I love libraries, there is something special about wandering through the aisles of endless books imagining the wisdom within the pages. Funny how people today do not realize the importance of personal, quiet space.

Fortunately there are usually quiet spaces in the library @sunscape although there are many more these days where it's quite noisy. I still love to go there though. 😁

It is something special that all can enjoy. It is like stepping into another world.

I must admit i havent been to a library for ages, although google is greta for finding things quickly there is something special about being in a library that now that I think about it I do miss

Of course not so much so when someone comes in and makes noise that is really annoying whether Ina library or a quiet cafe, some people just think what ever they are doing is more important and they really do not care about those around them

Sadly, many of our local libraries have closed now @tattoodjay. Not surprising with so much digital nowadays but on a normal (i.e. quiet) day I still love to hang out in them. 😊

Your post has motivated me to visit the big Library here on 5th Ave its meant to be very impressive inside and I have never been in there yet

It is sad that so many are closing

Have fun! I'm glad I've made a contribution to that idea. 😁

You are did 😎

Excellent review @gillianpearce and you are right, in libraries there is its own repetitive atmosphere and calm!

Yep. I'm a big fan of the calm you (normally) find in libraries @serkagan. 😊

Great post. I haven't been in a library for some years but have spent some great times in them. I have so many peaceful places around me every day I am lucky for sure. But books are just the best and bookshops have been the cause of me getting distracted for hours and even missing flights I get so engrossed in them! hahaha

Well I can get pretty engrossed in books @sallybeth23 but I've never actually missed a flight because of them. Have been the last one on the plane a few times though, after having my name called out across the tannoy. 😂

OMG! This was almost hilarious, except for you. Some people are so dang rude!!!!

Hell's Bells! I want to buy him a set of earbuds!

I'd rather you bought him a handkerchief @dswigle. The noise from his phone was annoying but not as much as the constant sniffing and wiping his nose on his sleeve. Ugh! Gross! 😂

Good thought! I have a boxful! I'll send the chap one! Yes! Totally gross!

You’re a happy lady because you enjoy what you like. I like librarians!

Best wishes @gillianpearce

Posted using Partiko iOS

Steemit can be at first addictive. This made me to remember the first year i joined steemit also, it was just too addictive for me. Staying on steemit for hours

Hi @gillianpearce!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.410 which ranks you at #2287 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 12 places in the last three days (old rank 2299).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 246 contributions, your post is ranked at #82.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62928.79
ETH 2465.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55