The Power Of Setting Goals; You Get What You Bergain With Life

in #motivation7 years ago

“I bargained with Life for a penny,
And Life would pay no more,
However, I begged at evening
When I counted my scanty store;

For Life is just an employer,
He gives you what you ask,
But once you have set the wages,
Why, you must bear the task.

I worked for a menial's hire,
Only to learn, dismayed,
That any wage I had asked of Life,
Life would have paid.”

  • Jessie B. Rittenhouse

I love this poem a lot, in fact, you would have realized that I always make reference to it a lot. I believe that you have the power to make your world yourself, you have the power to grow yourself, you have the power to accomplish anything you want to accomplish; all you need is just a bargain with life itself.



At the end of the year 2013, I was having a chat with a mentor of mine (Although, he acts more like a friend to a mentor, not minding the age gap). He asked me to go bring out my list of goals for that year and it looked like he was speaking French because I did not have any list, I used to have my goals in my head. I told him straight that I didn't have any written goal, that all I had were in head goals which I try to accomplish. He asked me some questions which include;

  • Do you know the total amount of goals you wanted to accomplish this year
  • How many did you accomplish
  • How did you set them in order of priority
  • How do you remember and keep track of them.

When he was done asking, it looked like I was foolish like I had been wasting time all these years (well, no one is an island of knowledge, so I learnt about writing down goals that day), but one thing that amazed me was how will writing goals help accomplish it? I never understood until recently.

That day, my mentor asked me to pick as many A4 papers as possible and write down what I wanted to achieve between the 2013 and 2016. I had no choice, I couldn't say NO, I had to just do it. At first, it looked boring and annoying writing what I wanted to have done within the period of three years. Soon, I started enjoying the writing as he (my mentor) was there making me feel relieved. At the end of the day, I was able to come up with a full list of 120 things which were pressing and needed to be dealt with. I never knew I needed to achieve so much. What I use to do before was to look for the small things I needed to do and then register them in my head.

When I finished writing it, he told me to go back and rearrange my writings based on how, when I want to accomplish it. Trust me, it was now the second day and I started feeling he was disturbing but I had no choice, I wanted to learn (One thing I always want to do is to learn), I had to go rearrange them in other of priority based on how and when I wanted to achieve them.

When I was done, he told me to always read my goals morning and night and never fail to do it for once. After a while when I was always going to read the list, I could say everything there off the heart and according to priority.

My goals were really funny, they were things that were needed to be accomplished as the days went by. Soon, I had to accomplish a goal in a day.

I never forgot what he told me, he said: "whatever you want to do, never leave it undone".

At the end of the three years, I was able to accomplish 101 goals, which was amazing.

At the end of the third year, I went to him and showed him. He said "Gbenga, that's the power of writing goals down"


Image reference 1 2



REGARDS FROM @gbenga




steemit_icon.png discord_icon.png



fancy-line-divider.jpg


Thanks to @son-of-satire for the generic footer

GENERIC.gif
Thanks to @elyaque for my first badge

Bildschirmfoto 2017-06-13 um 16.44.32.png

small-4605-5908eb3da2bfa.png

Nigerian community badge by @jodipamungkas
PACKET CURATOR NIGERIAN @gbenga.png

Badge by @royalfinest
gbenga badge from @royalfinest.jpeg

divider.png

Sort:  

Amazing. You know, I have set goals that I never achieved because they were a little unattended to and some what unrealistic. I think I am 100% ready to achieve my goals and will have to get as many A4 sheets i can... Thank you. you have motivated me this morning.

Go on and start working on it. The sooner the better.

Saying goals and trying to achieve them without writing them out can be close to impossible. Written goals that are carefully attended to are easily and quickly achieved compared to goals that are planned to be achieved from off the heart

Thanks for sharing @gbenga .

Even the scriptures illustrated something like this:

Then he which had received the one talent came and said, Lord, I knew thee that thou art an hard man, reaping where thou hast not sown, and gathering where thou hast not strawed: And I was afraid, and went and hid thy talent in the earth: lo, there thou hast that is thine. His lord answered and said unto him, Thou wicked and slothful servant, thou knewest that I reap where I sowed not, and gather where I have not strawed: Thou oughtest therefore to have put my money to the exchangers, and then at my coming I should have received mine own with usury. Take therefore the talent from him, and give it unto him which hath ten talents. For unto every one that hath shall be given, and he shall have abundance: but from him that hath not shall be taken away even that which he hath. Matthew 25:24-29.

WOW!! Beautiful. The saying that the scripture is complete is true. Thanks a lot for this

Awesome man! True words.
The goal is getting a whole new dimension when they are written down it's like the connection to them is even stronger.

True talk. Connection to goals means seeing them as they ought to be and getting used to them, with that you can now move swiftly to achieving them. No goal is unachievable, it all depends on the goal setter

writing down goals is something really helpful, although I am still trying to make myself get used to the system of writing down goals, but it is really a great idea.

Yes, it is my dear, you need to start getting it done now.

Wise mentor you got there bro! 😊 i usually dont write most of my goals, i only store it in my head but thanks to this post, i will give it a try. Great post!

Thanks a lot my friend

Better than a thousand days of diligent study is one day with a great teacher.

I love my mentors a lot because they are great teachers. I hope you love yours as well

This post was literally pinching me all the way.
You sure have a good friend (mentor).
Am sure gonna readjust and start deliberately penning down my goals.

It is a good one to start penning down your goals and start achieving them.

I never forgot what he told me, he said: "whatever you want to do, never leave it undone".

Goals set are meant to be achieved and when we write them down and refer to them often, it helps us to maintain focus in achieving them.

One could never go wrong with writing down goals! It's sight convicts and stirs up the fighter in you, brings out your A game!

I did learn from this! Thanks

"whatever you want to do, never leave it undone". This quote is strong...
Thanks to your mentor. He Taught you and now, I just learnt another thing from your post.
Would put that into action ( writing down goal to achieve).
Indirectly, I just got Taught by your mentor too. That his message that very time has now gone beyond his imagination.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66053.97
ETH 3448.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67