Not Meaningless

in #motivation5 years ago

Everything has a meaning.

Everything has a purpose.

Bad situations can yield amazing outcomes.

Good situations can yield horrifying outcomes.

Most people will go through life and never realize one simple, but abstruse point to happiness:

Being happy is determined by how your perceive the world, the things that happen to you and the things that you do.

Most people will wander through life in a mostly aimless way.

They will see hardship and they will sometimes overcome it and other times absorb the negativity and bury it in their subconscious.

Those who bury it will have it affect them for the rest of their life.

Even our childhood traumas will be carried for the rest of our life.. if we do not learn to face them and deal with them head on.

Trauma, whether we like it or not, sticks with us forever. How we respond to that trauma is the key to either living a great life or living a life in constant fear of reoccurrence.

For me, a lot of this trauma plays out as anxiety. Particularly social anxiety.

Yes, I can still talk to people.. hold conversations... meet people at bars and what have you...

But I always feel that lingering anxiety. I feel it lingering at all times. When someone says hi to me and expects some sort of "hi how are you" response, I can feel the anxiety let out a little burst..

I can feel the stress hormones in my body gain a little spike. It's an odd thing. I can feel it there but I don't always know how to deal with it and overcome it.

This is one of the many things I've carried from my youth. Overcoming it is reliant on my ability to not only write and talk about the issue, but also to remap the issue.

To create a new framework for dealing with that kind of anxiety and how I think about the trauma.


What do you carry with you? How will you overcome it?

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29