“Other as Self” Morality

in #motivation6 years ago

siblings-817369_1280.jpg

“Human beings, by nature, want happiness and do not want suffering... from the viewpoint of real human value, we are all the same.” - Tenzin Gyatso, the 14th Dalai Lama

A while back, I was eating a bag of cookies. I was with a friend of mine and had offered him some, which he accepted gratefully. Soon the moment arrived when there was but one cookie left. No one would think ill of me for eating it... they were my cookies, after all, and I was desperately hungry. I very much wanted it, but I was a bit conflicted... He had clearly been enjoying them as much as I was, and it was likely enough that he’d enjoy another... what should I do?

Then a thought came to me which changed my life. “Whether I eat this cookie or he does, the result will be precisely the same: one person will enjoy a cookie.” A simple and straight-forward realization, but its effect was profound. All thoughts of covetousness fled from me, and I handed the bag over to him, utterly contented.

In that moment, I saw him as entirely equal to myself. His desires and mine were of equal importance, and the thought of either of them being satisfied was equally gratifying. I believe that considering others from the same perspective as we see ourselves is the key factor in establishing a thorough understanding of morality.

love-3365338_1280.jpg

Perhaps it refers to some “higher” truth – all sentient life arising from a common spiritual source. Perhaps it’s simply a practical methodology for promoting a peaceful and prosperous society. Morality is a model for understanding the cause-and-effect of human behavior; with moral actions promoting a more authentic expression of the nature of the beings in question, and immoral actions inhibiting that expression.

As per our previous discussions about human nature and needs (both linked at the end of this article), a fundamental quality of humanity is free will, and the free expression of autonomy is a central need of every person. Moral systems like the non-aggression principle (NAP) attempt to establish guidelines for promoting that free expression – but does it go far enough? I don’t believe it does…

The NAP is elementary morality; it’s not the end-game. Not directly hurting others or stealing their stuff is the absolute least we can do. I have reason to believe that natural law morality is leading us toward something greater – namely Love, with a capital “L”.

The Love I’m referring to is an appreciation of the true nature of others as intrinsically equal to ourselves. Not only equal in terms of having equal rights, but equal in a logical, mathematical sense – the items on both sides of the equal sign are essentially the same thing. The difference between myself and another is the difference between "5 apples" and "2 +3 apples". They have taken different forms in a rather trivial sense, but ultimately, they are the same.

apple-2788662_1280.jpg

With this understanding in place, all philosophical discourse on morality is obviated entirely. This is an appropriate turn of events, as it seems fitting that moral understanding – something so critically important to the quality of human life – should not hinge upon an extreme level of intellectual inquiry. Man in the jungle and man in the ivory tower should have equal access, it being so invaluable to his ability to survive and thrive.

What need have we of models like the NAP if we truly have Love for others? As our opening quote illustrates, there is an intrinsic commonality between all people. In this way, we understand their desire for an improved emotional state. We cannot grant them this, but we can facilitate their ability to find it by seeing their needs and desires as opportunities for enrichment. In doing so, we raise the sum total of happiness and satisfaction in the world – a world in which we ourselves reside.

Imagine a world whereby each gave freely, knowing with full confidence that the other would never take in excess of his need or reasonable desire. Our entire paradigm of “even exchange” would be rendered unnecessary, and both the joy of giving and receiving would abound in all interactions. This is wholly within our capabilities. This can be our world.

We cannot choose the actions of others, but we can be the change we’d like to see, and move the world one step closer to that ideal. Keep this idea in mind as you go forward throughout your day, and see if you can find opportunities to employ this understanding. They may not all seem to deserve it, but do it anyway. There is no loss if you find satisfaction in the giving itself. Little by little, they’ll come around; and even if we cannot see the full extent of this cultural change in our lifetime, we can do our part, and have a more pleasant journey along the way.

Thanks for checking in!
Brian Blackwell

Relevant articles supporting a deeper understanding of the ideas presented above may be found here:

Sort:  

Hey, there @bbblackwell. I really liked your post and your reflecting :) I nominated it for Pay It Forward Curation Contest :)

Here is my post about it :)

Cheers!

That's so cool, thank you Valeria!

I like your post too.

We cannot choose the actions of others, but we can be the change we’d like to see, and move the world one step closer to that ideal.

It is very good opinion or idea. Thanks @insight-out for choosing this post.

Thank you, Brian.
It is so good to read this thoughts of you.
We all indeed have this intrinsic "knowledge" about the order of things in us. It's so simple that it flees the attention sometimes.

I have a video for you which I find very inspiring - though it seems that it has nothing to do with the content of your text, it does. ... or so I think (it's worth watching it to the end):

Who ate the last cookie? :)

He ate the last cookie!

I watched this video - I tend to agree with the Buddhist. To my mind, this is both the more insightful, and more prudent, position. As he said, it is the more scientific, in the truest sense of the word. The primacy of individual experience was touted by Terence McKenna, and along with respect for "the mystery" of life, I believe it's the most important take-away from his work.

Thank you!

You're welcome. Happy, that you watched the video.
Oh, yes, Terence McKenna: what a great guy he was. A master of words.
lol to the cookie:)

Thank you so very much for this post @bbblackwell!

Imagine a world whereby each gave freely, knowing with full confidence that the other would never take in excess of his need or reasonable desire.

I've always imagined a world like this and live my life daily trying to be that world! Just imagine indeed!! What a beautiful place it would be :)

I found your post because @insight-out featured you in her Pay it Forward Curation Contestentry; I'm one of the judges and would love to see you join us with an entry of your own next week if you are so inclined!

Thank you so much! I clicked through to read about the PIFC project - it looks interesting, and simple enough. I will see if if anything jumps out at me this week.

That's awesome @bbblackwell :) And just so you know, the contest runs every week, so no pressure to get something in this week if it's slim pickins' out there :)

To quote Jimmy Cliff (not from the video below, but at a live concert), "The essence of life is divine love, and if you love me like I love you, what a wonderful world this will be!" Thanks for another beautiful work, Brian. Now enjoy this lovely song:

Great stuff. This music is what the world would be if mongrels and misanthropes would heal their insecurity.

I enjoyed reading your reflection/philosophy. Good lessons for life.
I came here from @insight-out's entry in the Pay it Forward Curation Contest. Keep up the great work!

Thank you, V-V!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44