The Precious Gift Of Important Time And What We Do With It.

in #mothersday7 years ago (edited)

What we do with our time is completely up to us. We can spend our days worthlessly or wisely in many ways. 

I like the thought that it cannot be contained, only the memories caught within that time can be! 

Our lives are filled with various memories of love, joy, pain, sorrow, anger and so many other emotions. Most people like to visit family, friends and loved ones at holidays and during special events to create good moments. I was never big on family gatherings and rather avoided them. 

Important time is what we use for the things that are of high importance for our lives, like earning a living, filling the role as a parent and partner, paying bills, for our entertainment, education and maintaining a healthy lifestyle maybe. "Prioritising these tasks will add value to our lives, and leave us with a feeling of fulfillment at day’s end." (Henrik Erberg)

Is Mothers Day Important? 

Most of you will say "Of course it is" and for my whole life I felt the same, tried to be a good daughter, knowing it makes my Mom so happy to "value" her with my calls, trying to spend more time with her, even though I lived abroad for many years.

 

Typical Mom, I keep those gifts from my daughter Tahnee :)

I would not dare to forget that date but it felt more like a pressure, therefore I really don't want my daughter to feel any kind of obligation for May14th. I will keep her previous gifts when she was a child, anyways.

I was not always honest because there were those feelings of painful disagreements and I stored lots of anger towards my Mutti but time and years away healed wounds.  

Practising forgiveness helped me to unconditionally love her. I do! She knows it more than ever. 

We found peace with each other. I finally took time off my life, to take care off her as long as she needs me for her remaining few years.

My first article on Steemit :) Is Motherhood THE ULTIMATE of becoming a more Powerful and “Beautiful” Woman?

This sounds like mine:)

 

Image Source 

Mother's Day will be marked on Sunday, May 14,2017

I was kind of upset when I woke up this morning, finding a reminder on my calendar for May 14th, "Mothers Day" in Europe and America! Every mother will expect their children to spend a very special time with them. Some children will know, its the day where you have to prepare presents, poems, drawings and flowers to honour your Mom's

I am wondering what you all planned for such chosen Sunday. Who chose that date anyways? 

I find it a truly annoying because I said it many times before, that mothers (some) deserve the respect......ALWAYS! 

All platforms will be filled with pictures again. I also used to do these kind of posts but I'm over it. Sorry, if I sound rude but I have never been into celebrating any kind of holidays, I hate weddings, funerals and religious holidays. Am I weird? 

This time I do not expect my daughter to spend her day with me, in case she feels something else is more important to do, nor will I spend the day with my mother. 

Its our DAY OFF! 

There will be many other days we can choose to be together, sharing our presence, love and appreciation for each other, when WE feel like.........All about "THE RIGHT TIME".  

Origins of Mothers Day 

There is evidence that the original idea was a day for mothers, plural, not a day for one's own mother on which mothers would get together for a day of service, to help out other mothers who were less fortunate.

I found this article and video at time.com, The sad origins of Mothers Day written by Olivia B. Waxman 


Perhaps it's appropriate that the day on which Americans celebrate mothers has an odd set of parents:  President Woodrow Wilson is usually seen as the "father" of Mother's Day — for signing a proclamation on May 9, 1914, declaring the second Sunday of May "a public expression of our love and reverence for the mothers of our country" — while copywriter Anna Jarvis is usually seen as the "mother" of Mother's Day, for creating the movement that led to the proclamation. It was on May 10, 1908, that Jarvis sent 500 white carnations to Andrews Methodist Episcopal Church in her hometown of Grafton, W.Va., in honor of her late mother Ann. That date, on which she also held a celebration in Philadelphia, where she lived at the time, is considered to be America's first Mother's Day celebration. But Jarvis wasn't the only person to try to start a holiday dedicated to mothers. One notable person who might also have a claim to that fame: Jarvis' own mother, had come up with such an idea in the mid-19th century. Her vision for Mother's Day, however, looked very different from the gift-centric holiday of modern times. - Source at time / The History and Origins of Mothers Day 


Image Source 

Happy Mothers Day! 

Don't forget to mail your card, buy the flowers, prepare the dinner, make a brunch reservation in the favourite restaurant and honour OUR Mothers in your own way. 


Some might have lost theirs while others are more blessed like me. 

Say " I Love You " and put a smile on their faces, if you wish that. 



There’s Nothing More Important Than Kindness - Lessons To Learn, Inspired by Don Miguel Ruiz

Tender Gravity Of Kindness, A Lost Virtue?


Follow @mammasitta 

  

Sort:  

I'm not so much in all these days of celebrating parents, secretaries, businesses, pools, dishes and what not....BUT, tomorrow I'll visit my mother; Even thought I didn't know it was mother days; She must be thrilled; And I by change made a good move :) Thanks for the post and the reminder! :)

Hahah. Is it true that you forgot about Mother's Day? I am so glad I wrote this story a day earlier. I am sure Mamma will be thrilled to see her boy. 🌷with roses maybe.

Absolutely I forgot; I never lie :) I may bent the truth, but so far so good here on Steemit, never bended the truth :)

You are indeed truthful and always take your TIME To comment. That's very special.
I realized that the "mother/daughter" topic seems to haunt me somehow.
I might have to post more Schnitzel photos hahha !

Oh I LOVE Schnitzels! I remember the biggest one I ate in my life was in Vienna, I had a huge plate and the Schnitzel was still crossing the edges big time! Ohw, please please also some Sacher Torte (Cake) pictures!!

You must be kidding! Do you bet think I should start posting pictures of more food while I am struggling to get off some pounds at the gym ? Hahha oh well I might :)

I love the artwork from your daughter, you all are beautiful.

I've been told by my Buddhist teachers we've all been each other's mothers in past life. Tomorrow I'm taking care of my daughter and her kids, I'm cooking a bunch of good food for everyone. Sunday is Mother's Day all year long. My daughter has had a hard couple of years fighting for custody of her children and it's still not over. . So I'll be taking care of her! I warned the kids in exchange for my services they will have to change my diapers, if that time comes. I don't like state sponsored holidays....my daughter calls them Hallmark holidays.

I always love your comments awesome woman and your teacher is so right. Mothers of earth. Enjoy your mothers day all year long. Will see how my day goes tomorrow but as I said ITS DAY OFF for all 3 of us haha !!! So sorry for the fights . We had them as well. How old is she?

My oldest, which we are staying with and helping her and the kids stay safe and happy is 37 years old....hehe I tease her, she's gonna be 40 soon ...I practice noble silence around my two daughters, we have territorial issues😏😂😂😂

Love your posts (hugs to all the Moms)

You must be kidding ? How young are you? You look 40 max ! 🙀 #territoryissues great tag ! We build the first Trump wall for now 🤺 Since her first boyfriend

We women, mothers, daughters have deep karma, it can be so uncomfortable. 🙄🤐

I was born in the deep of winter 1960, I'm 57 ....this time of my life has given me very subtle insights into my conditioning and a lot more compassion for others. I understand why the elders in our society are shunned and youth is worshipped, cause we old people know what's going on, most young people don't know shit!

I am born into some grey late September autumn mist, hiding under those Austrian blankets since 1958 for way too long 😜 Taking off was the best decision....
Damn true that those youngsters know shit but as all juveniles, they think they do. At least mine thinks I had no life before she was born.
We are deeply connected to the lands Karma and we are old souls . Oh well, some women are! Some are not. You are for sure.
Have a good Sunday Mamabear!

ya, mamma yang bijak ! (Yes, wise mamma !). Mother is important for us, that is why. we should celeberate mother day. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58503.45
ETH 2594.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45