You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Lost My Identity? Or Did I?

in #motherhood6 years ago

I can totally relate to you. I was teaching college and then moved cross country. Found out I was pregnant and ended up being a stay at home mom while I finish up my current degree. I definitely feel like I lost my identity somewhere in between all the bottles and diapers. I hate my body and don't feel like my old self yet. Maybe when i return to the working world again I'll find my former self but until then I've got bottles to wash.

Sort:  

Maybe in all of the bottles and diapers our identity evolves and becomes more complex- going from the life of having to care only about ourselves to one where our identity has wrinkles and grooves and dents and shiny spots and more people to love - all formed by the path it took to get us where we are? Or maybe there are just more diapers to be changed for now... ;)

I am trying to enjoy the wrinkles I know were caused by chaos and beauty. Its a perspective shift for sure.

It really can be a struggle. I find myself longing for my old self some days and then realize how much I have changed. The good with the bad. Its a limbo I am trying to accept. What did you teach in college?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61572.53
ETH 2995.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73