Morale Patches...

in #moralepatch7 years ago

Designs and sayings attached to velcro or sewn directly to something are commonly referred to as morale patches. In the military patches are usually mundane - names tapes, Branch identifier, Unit Patch, US Flag, blood types, etc. Morale patches are a way of adding something a little different to your gear. Rarely worn directly visible on the uniform, but often on other gear these nonstandard patches are a fairly simple way to make a statement or offer yourself and others a little motivation.

I used to wear one of these on underside of my collar and gave one to all my guys, it was a simple and subtle way to build some team/squad camaraderie...
IMG_1977.JPG

This is a one I have on my EDC backpack pictured with another patch... These are meant to remind me to always be exploring and finding new things...
fullsizeoutput_78a.jpeg

Here are a few that ride on my key chain, the larger one is a Viking magical stave known as "Lasabrjotur" It is meant to enable the carrier to gain access to any lock, with it are 2 small company logos... The two companies make some pretty cool and useful little bits and bobs....
IMG_2719.JPG

Next up are two of my favorite patches, the one of top is one I earned, if you like hard physical endurance events check out Goruck events. The bottom one is a take on a business card from one of my favorite old Western TV shows, "Have Gun - Will Travel"
IMG_0596.JPG

Overall morale patches don't have a huge purpose other than raising spirits and providing a bit of motivation!

If you like these I've got many more I'd be happy to share!

Sort:  

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on Steem. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62382.95
ETH 2427.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58