Anxiety...

in #monthlyauthorchallenge7 years ago (edited)

Heart pounding, going 100 mph, mind racing about nothing at all, heart is heavy, feeling the breaking point coming soon, desperate for relief...

Anxiety sucks! Whether its you or a loved one, you just want to find a cure that doesnt involve popping pills to make you feel like nothing matters. For me, its strange, as I have never dealt with anxiety before about a month ago. With losing weight so fast, about 75 pounds in 4 1/2 months, it causes a hormone crash of sorts. Your fat cells hold on to hormones and as you lose weight they release those hormones into the body. While losing the weight was something I definitely needed to do for health reason, doing so at such a rapid rate didnt help me very much mentally. Im suffering with trying to find a way to deal with it. I went to the doctor to get some help, they put me on a scrpit called Celexa. This made me feel as though I had taken some nasty speed. My blood pressure sky rocketed and I was trembling so bad that my eyes were shaking. Yea, that didnt help with my anxiety one bit. Im not one to take pills in the first place and now Im dead set on trying to find my own way to deal.
Now my poor husband, he has dealt with anxiety his whole life. His childhood wasnt the best. He has never been a pill popper for seeing what his mother went through with drugs. He swore to never go that route and he never did despite all the opportunity. So we try to do this together, be each others pill. Most days we dont have to deal with this, and when we do its rarely both of us at the same time. Today seems to be a little different. We are both on edge, close to that breaking point, cant focus. So we hug it out. One of those hugs where you feel the stress just melt away. We are feeling a little more at ease. Im lucky to have someone who understands and is there for me when I cant be there for myself, as is he. Theres many people who dont have that though and so I wanted to share a few techniques I have learned, Im sure most are known but if I can help just one person get through the day when they dont know how, then thats enough reason for me. These things have helped me when my hubby is at work and anxiety creeps in or when Im shopping and I suddenly feel the aisles coming in on me.
There are some things you can do to help your body steer away from anxiety.
** Make sure your drinking plenty of water. Your body has many toxins and water helps to wash those toxins out. Youll be amazed at how much better you feel if you get the proper amount of water. I try to always go by the 8x8 rule, 8 8oz glasses of water a day, at least.
** A healthy diet... Getting the proper nutrition from your diet can be very important for managing your anxiety. You can eat foods make you anxiety worse or you can eat foods that help. Your diet should be rich in vitamins and minerals. Fruits and veggies are your friends! Stuff like alcohol, caffeine, foods that are high in fat and sugar, should really be avoided as much as possible as they can make the feeling worse.
** Getting outside and getting some fresh air, get your body moving. Exercise can help your body to release your feel good hormones, dopamine and serotonin. I have found going outside and taking a walk around my back yard to really soothe those terrible feelings. And of course meditation and yoga can help you to relieve that stress as well.
** Essential oils seem to help me make it through my shopping trips. Young Living, my personal favorite, has one called stress away that I like the most. Young Living brand can be a little costly though. I have recently ordered from Vitality Extracts, one called Inner Peace and I like it a lot also. You can look online and find many different kinds, many different brands. Just make sure you check out reviews to make sure youre getting a good natural product.
** Another thing that is said to do has to do with your five sense... You take in your surroundings to help calm you. You look for something you can eat, something you can smell, something you can see, something you touch and something you can hear. Truthfully, for me at least, this can be a little hard to do. I have a real problem concentrating enough to get past the first two things, but it does help many people and is definitely worth a try!
** Last but certainly not least, I have found that CBD oil has helped in so many ways. Do some personal research on it and see if its something that you can roll with. Its completely legal as it has no THC, the psychoactive in marijuana. Theres a lot of material to research. In my personal experience with it, it has helped a LOT, for my husband and I.

Im not a doctor at all, nor do I want to be. Thats a fabulous job for many but its not one that I think I could take on. Im just someone who struggles with anxiety and would love to be able to help someone who has as well. Lifes a beautiful thing and it sucks to live in a clouded view that prescription medication gives you. I will always search out a more natural remedy.
Anyways, I hope I have helped someone with this blog, anyone at all. If you suffer from anxiety please know youre not alone and talk to someone about your problems. Even if youre just writing a blog to let it all out. I hope you all have a fabulous day, mine is getting better by the minute. <3

Sort:  

Very valuable info....thanks for sharing. I know that's hard. <3

Excellent message, Sis! I’m so proud of you for how far you’ve come ❤️

Thank you sister! <3

@resteem.bot
Resteemed to over 8000 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!

Send 0.100 Steem or 0.100 Steem Dollar and the URL in the memo to use the bot.
Read here how the bot from Berlin works. News you will find under the hashtag #resteembotnews.

Please help us grow and use our link to trade #IOTA #BTC #ETH and a lot of more at one of the biggest exchanges. https://www.binance.com/?ref=10230705

@resteem.bot

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56586.53
ETH 2392.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30