Dragonflys and Mushrooms

in #monomad6 years ago (edited)

Historically, landscape photography has been my main interest, but recently I dusted off my zoom lens, borrowed a friend's 40mm prime (64mm on my crop sensor), and went to a near by park. The landscape wasn't particularly interesting so to make the trip worth it I got out of my comfort zone and tried to make the most of the zoom lenses.

With landscapes I usually edit to make the photo as realistic as possible but With these photos I tried to be a little more creative with the editing.

The Dragonfly

_MG_1214.jpg

With this dragonfly, I found the colors in the rock to be somewhat distracting from the bright blues and greens in the dragonfly so I decided to try something new for me (but by no means original) and put the background in greyscale. I also darkened the background and turned up the contrast. Together I aimed to maximize pop with the colors of the insect.

Photogenic Mushrooms

_MG_1137.jpg

In this photo I wanted to draw the eye to texture of the mushroom rather than the color of the grass. By un-saturating the greens in the grass, I hoped to keep focus on just the mushroom

_MG_1134.jpg

I aimed to achieve a similar effect in this photo by darkening the shadows and only allowing some of the grass to texture and color the background. Here I was really focused the peculiar shape of this mushroom cluster and again didn't want the viewer to be distracted.

Please let me know if you agree with my editing decisions and if you have any feedback I'd love to hear your take on things.

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Nice, really love the dragonfly. You didn't manipulate the color of the dragonfly?

Thanks! I upped the saturation a little bit but the dragonfly was blue and green. Here's the unedited photo if your curious.
_MG_1214.jpg

I liked the way you edited the photos. I keep seeing many photos that are not that well done but yours are beautiful! The editing here really brings the best out of your main objects! Thank you for sharing!

Thanks so much for your feedback and kind words! I'm glad the edits had the desired effects.

Hello, just a friendly reminder. The #photofriend tag is meant to be used by the members of @photofriend.

Come to join us on Discord: https://discord.gg/qtbFfkp and read the ‘start-here’ to become a member.

(Check the rules.)

@photofriend - A community of photographers supporting original photography on the Steem blockchain and fight against plagiarism. To improve the overall Steeming experience and help fellow photographers is our shared mission.

Oops, sorry about that, I didn't know the rules. I'll change the tag.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63183.53
ETH 2643.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78