When the rain comes

in #monomad6 years ago (edited)

Everything will look as pretty as this.
And in full colour too ;)

echeveria waterdrops bw.jpg

Those are two Echeveria plants I have after the rain in the rainy season, which is winter or spring here.

echeveria waterdrops bw 2.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
(ƒ/7.1, 1/160, ISO560)
Click on the image to view full screen!

»»-------------¤-------------««

BANNER1.png

Support Qurator project
vote for @qurator as a Steemit witness on
steemit.com, or SteemConnect
Thank you.

Sort:  

verry nice pict with monochrome style

Thank you :)

Very beautiful photos!
I am a fan of droplets in the photo!

Thank you! Me too :) That's why I like when it rains..

Mine are not doing so well. A couple seem ok, but several have died.

Oh no :( Do you know why?
For me it is always overwatering or when the pot stays wet too long. Their roots don't like it and start to rot.

I kept them under the roof so that I could control the amount of water. We were getting so much rain. They just seemed to melt away and vanish within few days after the lower leaves began turning dark. I just noticed today that the few that are left are growing taller and not staying in nice rosettes, so maybe that means they are not getting enough sun? I feel like a murderer!

The black leaves would mean they did rot. So too much water in the soil or staying wet too long.
When they grow tall - not enough light.

If I remember right you put them all together on one big pot. It might have been too big for them and the soil didn't dry. If you can take the remaining ones and plant them in separate small post (not bigger in diameter than the plant itself). They do not need much space and feel good when the roots are tight. Use more sandy soil or mix the universal plant soil with some sand/grid/perlite/rocks. Do not water until they are completely dry. It is better to keep them dry a bit longer than wet.

I may have to try again when I have the correct kind of pots. I put mine out in the full sun and now the squirrels have been into them. I'll just enjoy yours for now.

Oh boy :(
You can try to pot them in some small plastic coffee cups. Like the ones for espresso. I normally do that with smaller succulents :)

Congratz, your post has been resteemed, upvoted and… featured in The Daily Spotlights of July 24 2018! Check it out to see who nominated you…

Someone really can't wait... :P

Me me meee :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67200.37
ETH 3331.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77