In black and whitesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #monomad5 years ago (edited)

Am trying out some new edits here...

I shot these more than two years back, and posted them with different edits before

Previously I did these in colour and in sepia, somehow I preferred sepia instead of black and white before... I can't remember why now...

For those who aren't familiar, these are close-ups of the mask of the 'Barong' ~ a lion-like mythological figure in Balinese culture. I was fascinated and went for a few tight close-ups...

The third shot is a scene from the dance drama which shows the 'Barong' making its entrance with another character, just to show what the whole figure looks like!


DSC09484a-ii.jpg

A straight-on front shot
Black and white is always stark and can be a little much for some people


DSC09483f.jpg

An off-centre, slightly to one side shot, zooming out a little from the first... so you can see more of the full head mask
Here it looks a little friendly even, doesn't it...
Anyway, the 'Barong' is the good guy
in the usual story of good triumphing over evil


DSC09456 d-i.jpg

As mentioned earlier, this is a scene from the dance drama
If I remember correctly, the front character is the evil witch queen...
I may be wrong though, oops!
I was just excited about all the costumes and getting the shots, so I might have gotten a couple of the figures mixed up...

The 'Barong' costume is worn by two persons...
One forming the front with the head mask
the other performer does the back and back legs!
I had a brighter edit before, and this I made it a little more sinister...
darker shades and shadows, overall much darker...
The only light source coming from side windows
Not sure if it works though


Captured with SONY A5100 | © image & text original content | click image for fullscreen view


#Monochromes and #monomad by @brumest ~ more about it here



I'm with QURATOR... Are you?

Vote for Qurator as a Steemit Witness
via steemit.com or steemconnect

Sort:  

/ᐠ.。.ᐟ\

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just resteemed your post!
Week 5 of my contest just started...check it out!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory
3

This post has been resteemed by @original.content.

Follow me to keep up-to-date with posts tagged #oc and the author on ocdb's follow list.

If you don't like this message, please reply STOP and I'll cease notifying you ASAP.


Powered by witness untersatz!

Stunning!!! I love the depth the black and white edit gives!!

Black and White works great for these images. The Barong looks like he's smiling, even in the second shot with the mouth closed. I'm not sure he could look sinister :-)

Thank you, @kunschj!
Awww, a friendly Barong, I actually have not thought of that... Having said that, now that I look at it again, it does look friendly...

Nice dance drama costumes with black and white photography.

Thank you, @kamrunnahar! :)

Hi @ackhoo!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.434 which ranks you at #2335 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 92 contributions, your post is ranked at #52.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

This post has been curated by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60340.89
ETH 2615.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56