Monochrome Monday: Face in the Crowd

in #monochromemonday7 years ago (edited)

An old portrait shot on film; somebody who stood out in a crowd in The Hague, The Netherlands:


Praktica B200, Sigma 80-200 @200, f4, Ilford FP4+

As usual, the grain died a horrible death in the downsampling to screen resolution, but you get the idea.

Another portrait, of a fellow student, shot indoors under terrible light with a tiny camera fixed at 35mm:


Olympus XA, f5.6, Ilford FP4+

Another fellow student, As Seen In Groningen, The Netherlands:


Praktica B200, Sigma 80-200 @100, f5.6, Ilford FP4+

All three photos were taken about 30 years ago.

Thanks for watching!

Sort:  

upvoted&followed :)

all great portrait shots

you must have an impressive cataloging system in place to know the camera and lenses used back 30 + years ago

I took notes back then, for learning. Also, I took far less photos back then; only 36 to the roll and a student's budget.

Still Impressive, I took film photos back then also and I did keep notes, but lost them and the film over the years

B and W are always so sharp and detailed .

Old is gold nice pictures

Great work, as usual. I was in Groningen for a few days years ago, did the Remembrance March (I think that's what it's called). Wonderful city.

Thanks. I like Groningen as well, used to go there a lot.

beautiful portrait on b/w! I love b/w pictures, because the focus is on the subject without to be distracted by the colors ;)

Thanks! I like B&W for portraits as well, shape trumps colour in such (and some other) subjects.

Great Portraits!
I love to look at old pictures. 30 years and I bet you still remember the moments you were taking them...

Nice photo. From me upvote.

All three amazing and I certainly don't mind the grain since it reminds me of film-which I love- so vividly... I wonder how they all look now... :)

I never met the first, got a ride while hitchhiking to university from the second, but didn't get her name. The third I knew well, and I even know what she looks like now; still cute.

Yeah, I got it from your post that the first one at least you didn't know her - I just wondered for the sake of it, film and all! Great job, I love all 3! :)

Great portrait shots, especially the first one. I love the grainy edges. That says vintage! I so remember the days of film and darkroom! I kinda miss them. There was the anticipation of waiting to see what you had achieved! Now we have instant gratification, and if we don't like it we delete it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63780.55
ETH 2618.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82