Sort:  

Oh! I like how you totally changed the moods of your shots through your edits! My neighbors invited me over to watch the Wizard of OZ long before we had a color TV in our home...it was a wonderous thing to see!

It was a huge event when the movie changed into colour. People, like you say were amazed.
I do still like the old black and white movies. They are just so atmospheric.
Casablanca is probably the best movie ever made. In many peoples opinion. Super classy.

Hitchcock was a master of black and white movies, too. I like b&w movies, too.

When i wrote my comment above Hitchcock went through my mind. He was the master of the genre for sure.

For me, I feel the lack of color almost forces us to concentrate on the subject at hand. For such work as portraits, especially, color is a distraction to the facial expression and the eyes. Just one Old Guys opinion of course!

And a very good opinion too. You are right. Monochrome highlights the features. This is when having a craggy face always pays off.
Look at all the great actors and actresses. They always went for this mode. I like it. I look mysterious lol

These are awesome black and white / monochrome photos @molometer ... I really love BW photos because it adds drama to the photos. And also as what you have said it "look and feel iconic especially in architecture". Cheers!

All your photos always look so well done. I like the way you frame.
Yes, we all see color differently.

Monochrome really works well for some images. Mostly in these examples it makes them more dramatic I think. Colour is such a tricky thing to deal with as you say, we all see slightly differently and there's also those people who are colour blind. No such problems with black and white I assume?

Black and white has always been a desired format but I hear it is getting even more popular.

It's being 'rediscovered' by the younger generations. It just makes so many things look so much better instantly.

Gone are the days when people used to take colourless things as dull and lifeless. As one can see here, it looks beautiful. Its the way you look at the picture or perhaps its the way the photographer has captured the beauty.

They say: its either white or black; there is nothing called as grey.

Exactly, there is a huge growth in interest in this format.

Great work! I've experimented with monochrome with some my work. Love the variation you provide (church) the effect definitely creates a mood.

Thanks Daniel for your warm comment, we have many groups here on steemit who are into monochrome photography in a big way. It is a great medium for capturing the everyday mundane and making it dramatic.
It sets the mind on full alert. Welcome to steemit.

I'm enjoying the photos.

Thanks Craig. I like monochrome too.

and then later TV was a real mind

You got a 3.99% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @molometer!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64083.97
ETH 3475.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54