Monochrome Monday - Bantry House


My monochrome Monday photos come from Ireland this week.

These shots are of the West Stables at Bantry House. The building would have originally housed the carriages and been stables for the horses, as well as possible accommodation for the outdoor staff.

It has fallen into disrepair but is, supposedly, being restored with the help of a Heritage Council grant. I didn't see much sign of this though, when I was there a few years ago.

None the less, it is still a very imposing building to look at, I think.

bantry house stables ruin.jpg

Be sure to click on the image to view it full screen!

And this is the view from the other side with the sun filtering through the trees.

bantry house stable ruin.jpg

Be sure to click on the image to view it full screen!

For More Posts from Bantry see;

Bantry Sunset



Thanks to @old-guy-photos for this fun initiative and to @juliank and @photocontests for the architectural photography contest.

Sort:  

Excellent photos, the rays of light just super! This is very strong @gillianpearce !

Thank you @barski. The rays of light were a bit of a happy accident. 😊

If it's not a secret, which filter did you use? I have never used light filters.

Not a secret @barski because I didn't use a filter.

I just took the photograph with my smartphone, as is.

I had no idea it would turn out like that. 😁

It's just a miracle!

Ha, ha, ha @barski. I suppose you could call it that since I had no idea it would look like that. 😂

I'm still an inexperienced photographer. I rely on luck in this matter, not on my experience. Thank you @gillianpearce !

Me too @barski. I just point my phone and shoot! 😊

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-18T18:51:00
Account Level: 5
Total XP: 2119.09/3200.00
Total Photos: 259
Total comments: 328
Total contest wins: 4
And have also received a 2.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Appears too beautiful to be a 'barn ! Certainly hope it will be restored!

Yeah. It's a bit of a strange one @melinda010100, maybe it was just the structure they conserved.

I live in a mews so our garages of where the coaches were parked and the horses stabled and, apart from the cobbles and rings in the wall I don't suppose there's too much inside that would be worth rebuilding.

Beautiful building, and great shots. These almost feel like old South American ruins tucked away behind mountains of plant material.

I'd kind of want to explore inside :)

I see what you mean about the old South American feel @negativer.

There's not much to explore inside. Just earth. 😊

Wow. Neat looking! Nice photos, too. :)

Thank you @monnotharch. Thanks for visiting! 😊

Well I guess its kind of a status thing...this is where we keep the horses. Think of how cool the house must be :)

Well hold onto your hat. I might post a photograph of the house at some point.

Spoiler alert - the stables seem way more impressive than their corresponding house. 😂

That's some pretty fancy topiary in the second photo so the gardens look well cared for. The building does remind me of those old Aztec monuments they found covered up in jungle. If it's a Grade II listed building. I think they are only forced to maintain the facade?
Sounds like the interior could use some work?

Yeah. The gardens were lovely @molometer.

You maybe right about the Grade 11 listed status. There probably isn't much to maintain in the interior anyway.

I live in a mews and our garages are where the coaches were parked and the horses stabled and, apart from the cobbles and rings in the wall I don't suppose there's too much inside that would be worth rebuilding. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 65292.16
ETH 2651.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85