monochrome monday —soft and vintage mellow monday



I enjoy playing with different black and white tones while editing my photos.

Today, I chose a charcoal and cream shade. It is vintage in look and feel, but not quite the usual rusty orange tones of sepia nor the sharp silvery tones of black and white.

These muted gradations bring a sense of solitude and quietness to my mind and heart where sharper colors might disturb the stillness.

Today I am in need of quietude.



It is only when we silent the blaring sounds of our daily existence
that we can finally hear the whispers of truth that life reveals to us,
as it stands knocking on the doorsteps of our hearts.
K.T. Jong

f/4 | 1/25s

Towards evening, they wound down precipices,
black with forests of cypress, pine and cedar,
into a glen so savage and secluded, that,
if Solitude ever had local habitation,
this might have been "her place of dearest residence.
Ann Radcliffe, The Mysteries of Udolpho, 1794

f/1.8 | 1/100s

CategoryMonochrome Photography
CameraNikon D3100
LensNikkor AF-S 55mm f/1.8 -16.0G
SettingsISO100 | 50mm | f/4 and f/1.8 | 1/25s and 1/100s
LocationFlamborough, Ontario



©All rights reserved, 2018


Thank you @old-guy-photos
for initiating the #monochromemonday photo challenge.


Sort:  

Lovely post @countrygirl.

Enjoyed the beautiful photographs and accompanying quotes. ^__^

Your topic brought to mind the Eagles song....'Learn to be Still'.

Thank you for the opportunity to think on these things.

All the best.

Good comparison @bentleycapital.

We are like sheep without a shepherd
We don't know how to be alone
So we wander 'round this desert
And wind up following the wrong gods home
But the flock cries out for another
And they keep answering that bell
And one more starry-eyed messiah
Meets a violent farewell-
Learn to be still
Learn to be still

Thank you @countrygirl.

Indeed....so glad we have The Shepherd. ^__^

Cheers.

Very nicely taken, especially the lamp! You can see the reflection of the house across the street, the clouds, and... you took a selfie!!! Well, kinda.

Nice shots!

I did!! You found me!! and the mister :)

The lamp is one of my favorite shots. I took several different ones and of the window it was behind bc the glass was original bubble glass.

The creamy texture to the photos is comforting. Reminds me of peaceful times with my grandmother. I certainly understand that need for quietude today...this definitely brings that softness. Today should be a me day @countrygirl!

Yes....so important to have quiet. And I am in need of that this week I think. So glad my photos brought back some memories for you. Hope you had some 'me' time today too!!

Wow, these are really cool! I resteemed and upvoted you! Cheers! XO

Thanks so much @robyeggs! I appreciate the resteem and upvote. :)

I really like that photo treatment too.

It's pretty isn't it....especially for the lace parasol. I enjoy it's softness too. Glad you like it as well. :)

The lamp looks like it could be from the last century or even longer ago. Monochrome shades just lends itself to subjects like these. Nicely done with the cream tint.

I'm pretty sure the lamp is from early 1900's. It was hanging inside an old train station, behind bubble glass. Perfect for reflections :) Monochrome is perfect for these subjects, yes!!

Thank you @molometer.

Love the quiet vintage look. I like the last photo best. Reminiscent of Grandma's parlour...

lovely lace....I still love lace. Glad you do too. :)

The tinge of cream does add a certain mood to it:) Brings back memories of old:)

The cream is soft and vintage looking.....mind you the photos are of antiques, but that's beside the point :) haha.

Love those reflections on the top and yeah the color really works great for these pieces.

Thanks kindly sir. Reflections.....I love them too.

wowwww. this photo is very cool. Look at the beauty of color tones!
the most important is the wonderful composition with perfect reflections :)
I think I see you there too. my dear friend :)
hugs!
exceptional!

You do see me....and my husband :) Fancy selfie :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64294.06
ETH 3427.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59