mono chrome monday — winter water waves

Earth and sky, woods and fields,
lakes and rivers, the mountain and the sea,
are excellent schoolmasters,
and teach some of us more than we can ever learn from books.

~ John Lubbock

40-DSC_0129.jpg

38-DSC_0099.jpg

39-DSC_0107.jpg

Photos taken at Port Dover Pier and Lighthouse, Lake Erie, Ontario



photos by
signature.png
Nikon D3100
Nikkor Lens 18-55mm and 55mm-200mm
Adobe Lightroom

© all rights reserved



Sort:  

Those wave ridges in the first photo are impressive. I love the effect of light on the water in the middle shot. In the final pic you can almost feel the wind punishing your hair - a lone gull arcs in the distance.

I absolutely love the ocean. Having a pier like that to walk out on, with a lighthouse at the end, is wonderful.

That second picture is breathtaking, Ms Deb.

Thanks Lydon. Glad you liked it. The second one is cool and shiny. You would have appreciated the roaring thunderous sound from the waves, we couldn't even hear each other talk.

Ahh, yes, there is something peaceful about thunderous waves.

doesn't that remind you of a hymn? I hear the rolling thunder, Thy power throughout
the universe displayed. I sing that a lot in my heart and mind when I'm around roaring water.

The experience is peaceful yet exciting all at the same time - I'm not sure what emotion that would be....

It is well with thy soul.

I think it is a stunning image, that the Prince of Peace chose to walk on roaring waves. Peace doesn’t mean absence of chaos, just enjoyment therein.

Very true sir, very true.

Very nice for me to see some pictures from back home!

Are you from Port Dover or Canada in general?

Oh I wish we had water and waves but everything is frozen. Nice shots nevertheless!

Thank you @vimma. Welcome to steemit by the way. I checked out your blog -you are an amazing photographer!

Thanks very much, @countrygirl! I'll be back, hehe

Lighthouses are so amazing. The photos being done in black and white are intriguing. Thanks for sharing the beautiful photos

They look more dramatic in the b and w for sure. Thanks for your input!

Wow beautiful shots! Lake Erie sure looks rough as bricks that day. I used to fish for walleye on Breast Bay in a 12 foot aluminum rowboat!!! I wasnt too bright when I was younger. But some days it would be calm as glass!

Oh the water was crazy and loud. Roaring like thunder. I ventured out on the pier and had to hold on to the bolted seats....I went back to shore pretty fast. I have never seen Lake Erie calm....I've seen photos but never visited when it was glassy.

A row boat....on a lake this rough? Hurricane like weather? I think the walleye probably weren't even around .

Wonderful photo! I can almost hear the waves hit the shore!

Thank you @melinda010100. It was extremely windy and loud that day.

Looks like a day on which I would be happily surfing, out there all alone, just me on my board and the LORD juggling the wind and the waves explosively all around me....

😄😇😄

@creatr

It was a cold and stormy day :) Wind gusts 60mph and brutally cold. One of my mitts blew out of my pocket.
Lake Erie is a really bad lake to surf - way too many undercurrents. But I can see the draw for you.

We take photos as a return ticket to a moment otherwise gone. The waves,the sea ...

That's very poetic.....thank you.

This post has received a 0.83 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @johnjgeddes

@boomerang distributes 100% of the SBD and up to 80% of the Curation Rewards to STEEM POWER Delegators. If you want to bid for votes or want to delegate SP please read the @boomerang whitepaper.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64821.33
ETH 3466.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51