mono chrome monday — the color of the past

in #monochromemonday6 years ago (edited)



Memory only slumbers—never dies.
Thomas Paine (1737–1809) Chambers’s Journal, 1868


ISO 100 | 36mm | f/5.0 | 1/80sec

All that remains for us
is to be new while repeating the old,
and to be ourselves in becoming the echo of the whole world.
Alexandre Vinet (1797–1847)_

DSC_0272.jpg
ISO 100 | 36mm | f/5.0 | 1/80sec

Poetry is not a civilizer,
rather the reverse,
for great poetry appeals to the most primitive instincts.
Robinson Jeffers

DSC_0255.jpg
ISO 100 | 28mm | f/4.5 | 1/80sec

Ideas, like ghosts (according to the common notion of ghosts),
must be spoken to a little
before they will explain themselves…
Charles Dickens, Dealings with the Firm of Dombey and Son, 1846

DSC_0265.jpg
ISO 100 |20mm | f/3.8 | 1/50sec

Golden threads of imagination will always be found woven into the fabric of a human life...

DSC_0266.jpg
ISO 100 | 55mm | f/5.6 | 1/20sec

and it affords one of the sweetest pastimes to old age
to sit down and slowly unravel them,
recalling the hours when first they were spun.
James Lendall Basford (1845–1915), Sparks from the Philosopher's Stone, 1882



Millgrove, Ontario



photos by

Nikon D3100
Nikkor Lens 55mm-200mm
Adobe Lightroom

©All rights reserved, 2018



Thank you @old-guy-photos
for initiating the #monochromemonday photo challenge.


Sort:  

Cool photos!!! I can't imagine taking a multi-day trip on bumpy dirt roads in a wagon with steel-wrapped wooden wheels. It's got to be tough on the back 😧

Yes, I can imagine it would be tough on the back. Just thinking about it makes mine ache.

Wow @countrygirl, these photos are fantastic. They really speak to me, reminding me of the times spent with grandparents, talking about their childhoods. Looking at old photos from our ancestors and wondering about our past. Beautiful colors. Well done!

We must be from the same generation - these look like something my grandmother used in Northern Ontario. I still love the sepia tones and the feel and smell of old photos so it's nice to be able to digitally try to reproduce something similar.

Can you imagine the reality of wood wheels? Amazing how those folks prospered as well as they did. Tough stock of people.

Not the smoothest ride....but somehow it seems romantic or healthy or just different.

Cool photos of the old wagons! I like the retro-fit with the rubber tire. And, was that a llama?! Nice detail photo of the wooden spokes, too.

Can you imagine what a rough ride those old wooden wheels would have offered? My grandparents came into the world when cars were still in their infancy. My maternal grandparents knew how to drive a horse-drawn buggy.

Nope, not a llama....a miniature pony (with really gooey infected eyes....poor thing). I like the rubber tires trying to pretend to be vintage as well.

I've been in a horse and buggy from the past - Pioneer Village in Toronto is an amazing place to visit...and they have real buggy rides - personally I'd have a hard time keeping my lunch down if this was the mode of travel.

My grandmother's street in Hamilton near Gage Park still had the anchors in the sidewalks for the horse reigns when they stopped to deliver juice and milk.

My parents were born in the 30's and my grandparents the 1890's and 1900's. So old. They are gone, except for my parents who are in their late 80's now.

Life has evolved very quickly in the last century I would say.

I don't think I've ever seen reign anchors... There are a couple places that have horse water troughs, still, but they serve decorative purposes now.

It's amazing to think that we went from sails and horses to landing on the moon in a century.

I'm not sure what the ring is called that you tie a horse to....I'm looking online to see if I can find a photo of one. The reminded me of the ring that you'd tie a boat to and my grandmother laughed at me when I asked her if boats came down the road - I associated the ring with our boat up north. So embarrassed....

I'll have to find photos....there are other shapes, that look like anchors about 3 feet off the ground and also some decorative water troughs. Hamilton has a lot of history. Once my knee heals I'll do a walk through the downtown and take some photos.

In these parts, we had "hitching posts," which you used to be able to find from time to time. The ones I've seen were like bollards with a ring. You see them in the old western movies, sometimes. I haven't seen one in ages, though.

Very nice photography Deb. I love the old farm equipment it makes for wonderful subjects. I was trying to figure it out is it Massey Ferguson or Massey Harris?

I would say Massey Harris....I'm not sure though...it looks as though the letters would say the latter. Next time I go there I'll check it out - if my old lady brain remembers that is :)

These are fantastic! You are such an artist!

And YOU are such an encourager :)

Really cool pictures! Thanks for sharing!

Glad you enjoyed them my dear donut friend. Hope you are well. :)

You got a 1.50% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @countrygirl!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Congratulations, your post received 7.25% up vote form @spydo courtesy of @johnjgeddes! I hope, my gratitude will help you getting more visibility.
You can also earn by making delegation. Click here to delegate to @spydo and earn 95% daily reward payout! Follow this link to know more about delegation benefits.

I love finding the beauty in stuff others think is trash or junk (and most likely is, or at least an eye sore). Beauty is truly in the eye of the beholder. Love these wagon photos! I will have to remember this..Monochrome Monday .. hmmm .. I like it!!

Yes....#monochromemonday.....it's a fun tradition for me now :) Glad you enjoyed the photos!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62014.91
ETH 2410.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50