How to make MORE money out of nowhere - Part 2

in #money6 years ago

Money sustainability

Siddhartha explained to a merchant that knowing how to think, wait and fast were useful skills. A man that doesn't know how to fast is stressed to accept any job, in any conditions, because the hunger requires so. But for Siddhartha, being able to fast would allow him to think and wait for long periods, and accept only good opportunities.


518G7jJJhcL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
Source

By analogy, the worst way to be enslaved is when you don't know how to "fast", spending huge amounts of money you can't afford to lose. You have no choice besides accepting whatever job you can get your hands on. But if you could survive with less and less, fasting and waiting and thinking, you'd eventually find an opportunity to live sustainably and happy.

An app to not spend

Knowing how to not spend money is a very useful skill. Not only when you don't earn a lot of money, but specially when you do! Staying away from compulsive buying, investing instead of spending, knowing your financial limits.

Some years ago I started using a software named You Need a Budget (use this link for a free month) or YNAB for short. Unlike most budgeting softwares, this one doesn't make you predict the future, focusing instead in how much you have right now on your account. It doesn't matter if you earn variable income, if you have a large credit card debt, if you earn less than you usually spend... It can handle all situations. Like magic. And how? They focus on four pillars:

  1. Give every dollar a job - This means every single penny in your possession has a purpose in life. You were paid extra? Good, assign it a job. You were paid less? That's ok, just prioritize it and assign it a job as well. Don't ever leave a dollar bill in your pocket without knowing what's it for!
  2. Embrace your true expenses - You can run but you can't hide: you will be paying for your anual insurance bill, for an eventual car wreck, and for your well-deserved summer vacations. They are "true expenses", meaning you don't pay them frequently but you'll need to pay them some day. Instead of freaking out and eating pasta for a whole month because you need to pay for the car's insurance, you'll be dealing with those expenses in a very dynamic and effective way. So yeah, I'm saving for 2018's Christmas since... 2017's Christmas. It's a true expense. And I'm not worried about it.

    how-works-2.png
    Source
  3. Roll with the punches - Means that 99% of the months you overspend, you make bad choices with your money, you were fined, your car wreck was bigger than you expected... That's ok, with YNAB you still have a functional budget. It is highly flexible and meant to be changed and adapted as much as needed. Budgeting isn't a fixed thing.
  4. Age your money - You'll be spending the money your earned last month. I needed several months to accomplish this because I don't earn much money, but I assure you it is very rewarding. This month's income will be spent on June, and not on May... And that gives you peace of mind.

    how-works-4.png
    Source

YNAB offers a huge customer support, forums, videos, podcasts, newsletters... They even offer you free live classes everyday. That's right: they teach you how to use their software live. No matter if you have a complicated financial situation (multiple debts and stuff), you'll be mastering your budget in 20 minutes.

Why am I recommending

I'm really a YNAB fan. Some years ago I'd make complicated calculations everyday, freaking out because I would not have enough for the car loan, and then a last-minute concert would come up relieving me from that burden... A stressing life. But if my bank account had money, man... I'd spend it right away, unconsciously.

Without earning a single penny more, two years after starting with YNAB I was able to pay TWO YEARS of my car loan in advance, while keeping a comfortable balance. I shit you not. Today I have choices. I could leave my job and live comfortably for several months, fasting and waiting and thinking and looking for opportunities. And I never refused to go out at night, sometimes overspending A LOT beer or in a vegan restaurant or so, buying things I don't need and everything. No worries, it's all part of my budget. I'm not deceived by my bank account's balance, because every penny in it has a job:


how-works-1.png
Source

How much?

The app isn't free. Of course. But they do offer you a 34-day trial, and you'll get another one free if you use this link to register. On average, new budgeters save 600$ in two months (and more than 6000$ the first year - I can confirm these numbers myself), so you won't have a problem handling the 7$ monthly fee after the third month. If you feel this is not enough for you to try, there's a 100% money back garantee if you don't feel you have more control of your money. No questions asked.


GuaranteeSeal.png
Source

I guess you could just give it a try? You can thank me later :)


DQmS1SF61LjKWUuHRToDmXTHysQHtjsBLomDLTnuw58UsPJ_1680x8400.png

Do you want to earn SBD forever? I'm giving away 1 Steem Basic Income share :) Just drop an original comment in this post!


If you enjoyed this post please consider:

upvote follow resteem


Sort:  

what an awesome post.
You mentioned a lot of amazing tips, if I can apply those tips all on my money spending habits,, I would be very rich in the coming 3 years, but unfortunately, It is something very hard to apply though.

I'm a fan of awareness in most things. Just being aware of where your money is going will make you save A LOT!

Good post mean, now i know how planned my budget for 2018 !

Yeah but this software doesn't even make you think for the next month... It focus on the present, not the future. It's just amazing :) Specially if you have variable income. YNAB changed my financial life.

Amazing app! Thanks so much!

I'm a huge fan of YNAB and has been using it since last year as well. I have built up quite a bit of savings and generally don't spend beyond my income as well, but it's still useful to see where my money is going and to plan accordingly for the future.

There's a psychological effect of bank account's balance... Just looking at it makes us think we have a log of money, and we suddenly forget about our true expenses. YNAB is great to keep track of it and telling us "don't forget about that bill that's due next month, man!".

Thanks for stopping by!

Congratulations @zpedro! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

I like how you connect spirituality to economising. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54640.80
ETH 2444.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16