Share your first investment! (Round 2)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #money6 years ago

In this thread we share our first Investment and how it worked out for us. I think, @cryptotax started this series.

In the following you can see the Chart of Apple, Inc. for the period from August 1999 until March 2008.
Chart Apple ungefähre Haltedauer.png
This is roughly the period of my Investment in Apple Stock. At that time I did an internship at a local bank and I really wanted to have a look behind the scenes of Investments in stocks, Investment Fonds and everything about financial Investments. I have always been interested in this kind of things.

After a long talk to the employee who was responsible for Money Investments at that bank (it was in a really small town so there was only one Person in Charge) I decided to open a brokerage account. And I bought Apple Stocks. According to today's prices I paid around 2 € per Stock.

Since I was a Student at that time, you can imagine, I had not much money to invest. You wouldn't call it an Investment from todays perspective.

And you have to keep in mind: At that time, Stocks were down. They crashed after the Internet hype and Apple Stocks were down too. Not too much people believed stocks and in apple. Especially in Germany. Everyone only wanted to have secure investments, but please no stocks. But the employee at the bank asked me if I believed, that Apple would become bankrupt within short time. I decided to say no and I bought the stocks.

As you can see in the chart above, there was a long period afterwards in which the rate didn't really change. But in 2005 the stocks started to climb. First slow, then faster.

In 2008 I sold all my stocks and realized around 700 €. You see, it's not too much, but it was a high percentage.
Should I have sold at that time? From today's perspective surely not, because the rate is still much higher until now. But this kind of questions is the wrong track. I decided in 2008 and now, I can make new decisions.

Disclaimer: This article is not personal investment advice and should not be relied on in making an investment; the author is not an investment professional. This article does not constitute a client relationship between the author and the user. User is solely responsible for any financial or legal decisions made. Do your own research before investing. Past performance is not indicative of future results.

Sort:  

my first investment was silver and still buying more :)

you are grate sir..thank you for share this post.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Any immature technology needs to develop itself for some time after being invented. This theory works the same in internet and blockchain, so we shall wait until the dawn

Oh. Should i say you were lucky?

Oh no....

You were only persistence in believing your guts.

Its cool for anyone that wants to go far in business.

Thanks for this @taxguy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43