Investing - my journey

in #money7 years ago (edited)

One of my goals is to generate enough investment income to pay my bills. Thanks to the internet, I have found better opportunities for returns over the years. I want to share some of the ones I use and have benefited from.

I do max my 401K and below is how I invest for non retirement assets..

  1. Open a mutual fund only account at https://investor.vanguard.com/home/
    Use their systematic investment tools to buy some of their low expense mutual funds on a weekly basis with no transaction fees. I go with 5 funds and contribute 100$ to each per week to :
  • LifeStrategy Growth
    -500 Index Admiral Shares
    -International Growth
    -Emerging Markets Select Stock
    -Mid-Cap Growth Index Admiral

I never touch this money. It is on auto pilot.

  1. I no longer buy individual stocks.

  2. Any additional money I want to invest in the stock market I use betterment.com to buy into US Total Stock Market to benefit from their tax harvesting tool
    https://www.betterment.com/tax-loss-harvesting/

  3. I took out all the equity on my primary home via a HELOC from Chase. I pay <4% interest and generate an average of 12% returns by investing ~5-10K per deal on multiple real estate crowd funding platforms. I make a good 8% extra spread on about 250K of investments.

    The best one I like is Realtyshares (20+ investments) http://realtyshares.com due to decent minimums and the number of offers available.
    realtymogul.com is a close second (5+ investments) due to its high level of deal due diligence but requires more higher minimums.
    I have also tried out ifunding.com (2 deals) and peerrealty.com (3 deals). My peerrealty offerings have not returned much capital but overall I am able to generate 12% returns on my cash.

  4. I invest in startup companies using www.fundersclub.com

After 12 years of disciplined investing I have about 550K in retirement assets and 1mm+ in non retirement assets. I track my wealth and spending using www.mint.com

Sort:  

And to add on crypto. It is 2.5% of my assets now.

I would recommend not allocating more than 10% of your capital on alternate assets.

I know it is always hard to time the market and folks encourage holding crypto forever.

The approach I take is to sell my crypto once I make 20% of return using limit orders. As soon as I sell I create a new limit order to buy at 10% price discount to price I sold my crypto. I repeat this checking my portfolio once a day and on average have found myself making an extra 25% return with this strategy.

The other thing is I rotate into only alt coins that are established like litecoin when they have not appreciated enough relative to bitcoin.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87