'88 World Expo Bank Notes - More Notes for my Stack!

in #money6 years ago

1988 Australia World Expo Bank notes

Continuing on with my stacking of different banks notes, I came across these interesting specimens the other day.

These are bank notes that were accepted as legal tender inside the Expo 88 site in Brisbane, Queensland. Expo '88 was held from April 30th to October 30th 1988 and showcased the best that Australia had at the time.

IMG_6019.JPG

IMG_6021.JPG

Presently they have no monetary value but have become highly collectible items. Hopefully one day they will form part of my retirement plans!

World Expo '88

Expo '88 was held in Brisbane, Australia during the Bicentennial celebrations of that same year. The theme of the Expo was "Leisure in the Age of Technology", and the mascot for the Expo was an Australian platypus named Expo Oz. It placed Brisbane on the world map and the boost from tourism achieved from the Expo helped propel the state of Queensland into the modern age!

affb96a22234e7311f329f6c30d6d618--brisbane-expo.jpg

Do you have anything like this? Please feel free to share.

Thanks for reading.


Make Sure To Vote For These
Awesome Steem Witnesses!

DQmcRhugXJtKG9NtzBxvgVYr7YB5rg2Rvziokw7i8uU88fb.png


Come and join us in the Team Australia Discord Channel

Thanks to @ryivhnn and @bearone for the fantastic footers :)

Sort:  

I have nothing quite like that but I do have some notes with Saddam Hussein on them. One of the first things the Americans did when they overthrew him was to remove all the currency with his face on it. I have no idea if they are worth anything though. The old guy who sold them to me suggested they will be collectors items one day.

& as I mentioned in your other thread about the one & two dollar notes, I have several with consecutive serial numbers in mint condition.

Very nice. Now if you could just find some Libyan dinars with Gaddafi's image that would truly be an awesome collection.

Hey notes look nice good to know historic things love it 😍.

Very nic post,i like this post.

Wow, I wasn't even born by then, I don't even think I was in my parents plan by then lol. This is antique, it is something to be kept and passed on from generations to generations. I wish to have old artifact with me. This should be framed and kept safe.

Very cool collection! ;-) Nice

This is great post, i appreciate this steemsilvergold. keep it up

Whao... antiques. Those guys there that day wouldnt have thought technology would go this far

I like things that are historical values...Thank you for sharing...

My first ever flight was from Sydney to Brisbane for the Expo. Up until that time, I had sworn an aoth to myself that I would never ever board a plane. Had a great time up there ... especially in the Bavarian beer hall. Sadly, I don't have any Expo bucks.

Interesting historical perspectives on the basis of currency notes from the past. Great collection of notes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65051.86
ETH 3163.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54