NO MORE UPVOTING MY OWN POSTS OR COMMENTS...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #money7 years ago

I've been seeing a lot of that going on and I must confess I've done it plenty of times myself... It doesn't seem right that someone visits your post, leaves a comment, but instead of upvoting your Post, they upvote their comment instead... I'm sure you've all seen it happen and perhaps (like me) have done it yourselves...

Anyway, it is very tempting to do, but I'm going to try to refrain from doing it from now on... Wish me luck and please feel free to comment...

Debt Notes....jpg

@pocketechange

Sort:  

I see people say things like "self voting is draining the rewards pool" - I'm not sure if it is or not?!

Are you taking this stand purely because you think votes should only be shared out to others or are there other reasons?

Well, the other day it happened to me where a person gave his comment his vote instead of to me and he made more commenting on my post than I made on my post... It just got me thinking...
@pocketechange

You are right, this in not fair. I am new in Steemit and I like upvote interesting posts. I just read read that if a vote a lot my power vote decrease...it could be this why people vote for themselves?

It becomes very tempting to vote for yourself...

Now I understand. About an hour ago, I was testing my voting power in the calculators, I had 0.0004055. After voting, several posts I have now 0.0003783. So, I have to stop voting :)

Yes... My voting power was down to 38% just a day or two ago... It's starting to build back up now...

I agree, I was doing the same but I lately came up to the same conclusion. I felt weird about it. Not ready yet to not upvote my posts, but I definitely won't upvote my comments, unless somebody else does it too. I have to start somewhere. The tough thing will be to follow the same lane when your steem power really goes up and makes a significant difference.

Correct... I've seen some pretty nice upvotes whey someone votes for themselve... And I can see how tempting it becomes...

Hi, so you mean to tell me if someone upvotes their comment they send me they get the money for upvoting the comment? What about if they upvote the comment you send them? I have so much to learn about Steemit! Great post.

The post or comment getting upvoted gets that payout... A person can upvote his own post or the post of others... It can be 5 comments into a conversation of replies and if that's the one that gets voted on, whoever wrote it will get the upvote... I'm surprised you never noticed...
@pocketechange I'll upvote the comment you just made for an example...

Ok so that $0.03 with your upvote pays me than. But if you replied to my comment and Upvoted your own reply you get the money? I think I am getting it now. Why would you bother paying yourself. You spend the money only to get it back in 7 days. That's weird. Lol

I'm not sure where the upvote money comes from.. I haven't noticed my money going down when I upvote someone or myself...

I have to find some time in my crazy life and actually figure out this Steemit. I feel so lost all the time in here.

Seems like we can only upvote about 10 times a day to hold onto our Steem... I went nuts when you were away an started upvoting everything in site... I know better now... lol...
@pocketechange

Lol well I hope when you went nuts you at least had fun? Lol

My votes were 4 cents each time I voted... Before I was lucky to see my votes bring someone a penny...lol... It quickly started going down and down...
@pocketechange

We'll spoken
What about upvoting in small groups ?
Or this bots, they upvote automatically ?

I've seen that also... Sometimes a person makes more on my post than I do... lol... It does strike my funny bone at times...

This action is for people that consider the time they spent at posting the reply more valuable than your post! Shame on them!

What can you read on @steemboost today:
[ANN]: The "Happy Birthday Project"

It's hard to blame them for what they do... It all adds up...

My opinion on the self promote is split. I see fair arguments both ways.

For myself, I won't upvote my own comment unless I've upvoted the root post.

Otherwise, I will not EXCLUSIVELY upvote myself or people I follow. I will continue to seek out quality content and spend my upvotes where it's deserved.

There's a lot of good in your words...

Still don't get it. My posts always got my votes, however I didn't do it. It seems automatically done.

Oh yes... I forgot about that... When you Submit a Story, down in the lower Right hand Side there's a little box that you can either check or uncheck...
@pocketechange

Thanks. Again I learnt something new. Have a good time !

I split my 10 votes each day or more to the 50/50 range for others and my own posts. Once my channel grows bigger and I get more upvotes I'll give away more of my 10 each day.

I think I'm at the point now where I can concentrate on others... I've been giving it a lot of thought lately...
@pocketechange

yeaaaaaaaaa really u r right i agreeeee idk why they do it

It does give them more money in rewards... I can't say I blame them unless they have tons of money in their Steemit Wallets... lol...
@pocketechange

yea u r righttt

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61063.93
ETH 2667.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61